AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2014, 05:49 PM   #51 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

I didnt mean to start a war guys, after reading the facts I had to go with the 3258 because of how dynamic/stable and affordable it is

Amazon.com: Intel Pentium Processor G3258 4 BX80646G3258: Electronics

I appreciate all the info and help you guys have given me, this "rebuild" of my system has made me feel like a kid at xmas, I cant wait to be able to play DayZ again.

thanks again
__________________

mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 05:55 PM   #52 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

Get the DVD RW sata drive, it's only going to cost your $10. more than that converter and sometimes the bios does not recognize the IDE to Sata converter so you'll pop in the install disk but it might not work
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc..._-27151266-L0C
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 06:01 PM   #53 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
#1 Get your facts right please go check the current price tag for the 8350 its not 300.00 dollar chip.

#3 PP he was trying to show you that amd fx9350 had an edge in gaming.
Yeah it trumped some of intels ivy bridge higher end cpus.
I never thought it could at first but amd can still match intel blow to blow if they wanted to.

#4 Hi matt good to see you back, by the way before you support your friend look at the information provided please before jumping the gun.
Your pwnage got cancelled thanks man.
Games are becoming more quad core+ optimized, especially with consoles being 8 core computers. Also you can just get a FX 8320 or something and overclock the **** out of it. Right now my chip is running at 4.4GHZ, which would be me like buying and fx 9370, only I saved $90.

I wasn't expecting to be drawing 220 watts from my 120 watt board though, I figured my 8+2 VRM would help, I really should have gotten a 990FX board, but it was out of budget.

In the future spend $20-$30 on a cooler, which you can keep if you upgrade, and then overclock your CPU like crazy, you will get really good performance as other posters have said, def worth getting a cooler
__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 06:04 PM   #54 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post

#1 Get your facts right please go check the current price tag for the 8350 its not 300.00 dollar chip.
Yeah its a good one alright but I still prefer amd hexas over this.

#2Backing up joe:

#3 PP he was trying to show you that amd fx9350 had an edge in gaming.
Yeah it trumped some of intels ivy bridge higher end cpus.
I never thought it could at first but amd can still match intel blow to blow if they wanted to.

#4 Hi matt good to see you back, by the way before you support your friend look at the information provided please before jumping the gun.
Your pwnage got cancelled thanks man.
I do have my facts straight. The 9590 is over 300 for a chip new and a board that properly supports it costs over 200. That chip is nothing more than an over clocked 8350. The results are irrelevant regardless of those benches. He has a 4th gen Intel setup now and with a simple overclock on his little dual core which cost less than the price of even the 8350 he can rival a 4790k i7 which trumps all processors currently at game. He doesn't need some high end board nor does he need to drop cash on ridiculous cooling because it uses less than 100w over clocked. End of discussion really.

Edit: God I hate being on a phone. No games really aren't being more optimized. The new consoles are 8 core sure, but their computational power is that of one of our quads. So that being said they really can't draw too much more than they are now. Not to mention games like Watch Dogs that are heavily threaded are bloated for no real reason that I can see. I get 0 benefit from overclocking on that game and it can take up to 75% of 6 cores. Yet you have other games like AC4 that uses one thread.



Sent from my Z740 using TechForums
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:39 PM   #55 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

all I plan on playing is the Arma2 mod DayZ really, in a few weeks, after I get the EVGA GTX 750 SC, a new HDD and an SSD, I am gonna start playing BF3 maybe BF4 and DayZ SA

thanks again for all the info guys
mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:47 PM   #56 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I do have my facts straight. The 9590 is over 300 for a chip new and a board that properly supports it costs over 200. That chip is nothing more than an over clocked 8350.

He doesn't need some high end board nor does he need to drop cash on ridiculous cooling because it uses less than 100w over clocked. End of discussion really.

The new consoles are 8 core sure, but their computational power is that of one of our quads. So that being said they really can't draw too much more than they are now. Not to mention games like Watch Dogs that are heavily threaded are bloated for no real reason that I can see. I get 0 benefit from overclocking on that game and it can take up to 75% of 6 cores. Yet you have other games like AC4 that uses one thread.



Sent from my Z740 using TechForums
Anyone could have told you the 9350 not that special like amd claimed it to be read my first line please.
Watch dogs is repeating the same issue like crysis series did, few years later most newer end chips can handle it no prob.
Give it till the middle of 2015 and that problem should be cured on both cpu makers part.

What gets me is you have a nice expensive chip, you oc on it for that game or anything else ?
Just leave the thing at 3.6ghz or 3.8ghz, have the antivirus/firewall or whatever crap you have going on be disable.
Reduce the resolution down some, I know you love your graphics and colors but too much details and what not in any game.
Would make the cpu work more harder than it needs to causing you a problem soon or later down the road.
You should see a better difference, if not just play something else until it improves. :/
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:58 PM   #57 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

I feel safe with this setup for DayZ, my fellow Dayz fans wish they had this system and they all get 50+ frames, so i know I am safe

DayZ !!!!!....Im coming home

mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:06 PM   #58 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

LOL I play the DayZ SA and it can be boring at times but I find it very oddly addicting lol the glitches in the SA get you some times though, I have a AKM and actually found the 75 round drum for it, attached it and played for a while then quit to get a bite to eat and when I signed back in the 30 round clip was in the gun and the drum was gone DOH so I found a second 30 round but still searching for that drum.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:29 PM   #59 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
Anyone could have told you the 9350 not that special like amd claimed it to be read my first line please.
Watch dogs is repeating the same issue like crysis series did, few years later most newer end chips can handle it no prob.
Give it till the middle of 2015 and that problem should be cured on both cpu makers part.

What gets me is you have a nice expensive chip, you oc on it for that game or anything else ?
Just leave the thing at 3.6ghz or 3.8ghz, have the antivirus/firewall or whatever crap you have going on be disable.
Reduce the resolution down some, I know you love your graphics and colors but too much details and what not in any game.
Would make the cpu work more harder than it needs to causing you a problem soon or later down the road.
You should see a better difference, if not just play something else until it improves. :/
Totally missed the point I was making towards Steve. The game has that much usage, but when overclocked it gives no performance benefits. Means the game really isn't CPU bound at all, although the game itself is resource inflated from Ubisoft so not really the best description.

My biggest deal here is the guy has a 75 dollar chip that can perform like a 300 dollar one and anybody screaming AMD shouldn't be. Why make him buy into a dead platform? The 8350 is slower than his upgrade options for socket 1150 already, and while overclocked can perform better than the 8350 he can't afford anyways. That's been my deal this whole time. This whole thread was junked due to a stupid AMD vs Intel war for no reason. The absolute best option for him and his budget was what I specified.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:48 PM   #60 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

I mostly play the DayZ mod, I play on the Emerge server for pvp and then the 64Bit over poch server for base building with my friends

I pay a lot of BC2 also on the Beer and **** HC rush mode server

cant wait to play again

thanks again guys
__________________

mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel, AMD Settle Antitrust Disputes, Intel to Pay AMD $1.25 Billion Wildside Polls 31 11-21-2009 01:59 AM
Two questions before pulling the trigger... Portland Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-16-2007 01:07 PM
About to pullt he trigger, some advice please. Jeradin New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-23-2007 12:10 AM
I pulled the trigger!! waytoosmall New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-26-2006 04:19 PM
amd or intel, no this is not a "do you like intel or amd" post j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-16-2006 06:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.