AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2014, 03:15 PM   #41 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

ok thanks for helping me man
__________________

mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 03:28 PM   #42 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,322
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

The one that I have does not work with optical drives. It looks just like the first one you linked. Review on the first one says yes, but none of mine worked.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 03:36 PM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 03:46 PM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

i bought this one

http://www.amazon.com/HDE-SATA-Drive-Interface-Adapter/dp/B002Y2NI4M/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t
mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 03:53 PM   #45 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,322
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

That's the wrong one. That is to connect SATA devices to an IDE port on your motherboard. You need the first one you linked.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 04:11 PM   #46 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

I sent a cancel order request for that one and im gonna order the other one

if they dont cancel the order it looks like i can just invert the adapter and use it for the optical drive
mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 05:02 PM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

Yeah first one u posted was the correct one and it was also second on ur other reply so I'm guessing it was a communication error.


Sent from my iPhone using Tech-Forums
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 05:19 PM   #48 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth usa
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drogos View Post
Yeah first one u posted was the correct one and it was also second on ur other reply so I'm guessing it was a communication error.
its my fault, ive been drinking heavily, i live on the coast in NC and we are having a hurricane here and a hurricane party.

thanks again guys for all the info
mud beaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 05:28 PM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

Lol hopefully u get everything sorted and running.


Sent from my iPhone using Tech-Forums
__________________
AsRock z97x,i5 4690k@ 4.4ghz, Custom Water Loop, Nvidia 980TI 6GB, Corsair Dominators Platinum 16GB 2666mhz ,250 SSD,2TB,2TB Drive ,EVGA Supernova 750G2 PSU,NZXT H440 white. Asus 24" 144hz, LG 42" led lcd.
Drogos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 05:43 PM   #50 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: AMD or Intel, pulling the trigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Your point exactly? A 300+ dollar overclocked 8350 that requires a board that can adequately handle 250+W usage
#1 Get your facts right please go check the current price tag for the 8350 its not 300.00 dollar chip.
Yeah its a good one alright but I still prefer amd hexas over this.

#2Backing up joe:

#3 PP he was trying to show you that amd fx9350 had an edge in gaming.
Yeah it trumped some of intels ivy bridge higher end cpus.
I never thought it could at first but amd can still match intel blow to blow if they wanted to.

#4 Hi matt good to see you back, by the way before you support your friend look at the information provided please before jumping the gun.
Your pwnage got cancelled thanks man.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel, AMD Settle Antitrust Disputes, Intel to Pay AMD $1.25 Billion Wildside Polls 31 11-21-2009 01:59 AM
Two questions before pulling the trigger... Portland Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-16-2007 01:07 PM
About to pullt he trigger, some advice please. Jeradin New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-23-2007 12:10 AM
I pulled the trigger!! waytoosmall New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-26-2006 04:19 PM
amd or intel, no this is not a "do you like intel or amd" post j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-16-2006 06:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.