amd or intel, no this is not a "do you like intel or amd" post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2006, 12:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default amd or intel, no this is not a "do you like intel or amd" post

i can get a amd x2 3800 or a intel pentium d 915 for around $140. i'm not sure which one i should buy. i was leaning more towards the amd x2, this computer will be for gaming.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

X2 3800+ no questions about it.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 01:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya in that comparison I would definatley go with the 3800 hands down.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 10:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

The only Pentium D I would buy is the the 805 since you can overclock them to about 3.5-3.8ghz pretty easily and they only cost $92.

The 915 isn't as good as the 3800 so go with the 3800.
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 12:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

yeah the X2 3800+ by leaps and bounds


what mobo you planning on using?

and I wont be the first to say this...but 40 more bucks will get you an E6300...
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 06:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UA_Iron
yeah the X2 3800+ by leaps and bounds


what mobo you planning on using?

and I wont be the first to say this...but 40 more bucks will get you an E6300...
actually you were the first one to say this, LOL
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.