AMD or Intel? - Page 13 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2008, 11:16 PM   #121 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

it is a great little chip. I only got 3ghz out of mine but that was on stock vcore prime stable
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 12:04 AM   #122 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

i havent owned one, but i have researched it...and i will totally dispute that an overclocked 2140/60 is any better than my 5000BE was at 3.3ghz. i did it in the past and i will do it now.

and please...for the love of GOD...reading this thread makes me want to wrap my lips around a pistol. can we please stop beating the dead horse here?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:34 AM   #123 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

I am only jumping in to prevent Apok from spreading mis-information. In my mind the horse has been beaten but some people wont give it up.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:41 AM   #124 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

Quote:
In my mind the horse has been beaten
I think the horse is dead tbh.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:47 AM   #125 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ventriac View Post
I think the horse is dead tbh.


Evidence?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 11:52 AM   #126 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post


Evidence?
Thats how I roll
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 12:18 PM   #127 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I am only jumping in to prevent Apok from spreading mis-information. In my mind the horse has been beaten but some people wont give it up.
to stop me from spreading misinformation?
I only posted here because people were spreading misinformation on the AMD systems.
You know, statements like Q6600 is faster than 9950 or that it's $100 cheaper (which were both wrong)
Then even though I corrected those things (which was the only thing I was initially trying to do), people still continued to attack AMD
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 02:56 PM   #128 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

I screwed up a price. Your spewing unconfirmed data and conjecture about a processor that hasn't been released yet. All the expectations you have for Deneb are just that expectations. And even if Deneb beats Yorkfield that isn't saying much. Yorkfield is a generation old.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 03:03 PM   #129 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

Yes comparing Deneb to Yorksfield isn't saying much for amd due to the fact that yorksfield was released ages ago and deneb is "the next big thing" for amd, but...Let's talk about Core i7, what is that going to have that Deneb will not?
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 03:07 PM   #130 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD or Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
I screwed up a price.
by a lot.
and performance.
But you and Puddle Jumper then kept attacking Phenom's, so I defended them.
Quote:
Your spewing unconfirmed data
The fact that Deneb will have a higher IPC, use less power, and overclock more is not unconfirmed.
Quote:
and conjecture about a processor that hasn't been released yet
It may not be released, but we do have benchmarks of ES chips, and a lot of verifiable data on both the 65nm process and 45nm process used, as well as some technical details of Agena and Deneb, which give at the very very least a good indication as to what we can expect, even if not all of it is absolute data.
Quote:
All the expectations you have for Deneb are just that expectations.
Reasonable expectations based on facts.
Quote:
And even if Deneb beats Yorkfield that isn't saying much. Yorkfield is a generation old.
No, it's current generation. And people are still buying 65nm products from Intel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ventriac View Post
Yes comparing Deneb to Yorksfield isn't saying much for amd due to the fact that yorksfield was released ages ago and deneb is "the next big thing" for amd, but...Let's talk about Core i7, what is that going to have that Deneb will not?
Exclusive support for only DDR3 (not DDR2), which costs more, and a new socket, which requires new and expensive motherboards, as well as a higher price tag on the CPU's themselves.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel lawsuit from AMD pushed to 2010, Intel Monopoly! Wildside Polls 30 06-24-2008 05:28 PM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Intel Beats AMD to Lead-Free Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-24-2007 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.