AMD or Intel... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2008, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 464
Default AMD or Intel...

ok, soo.. I am rebuilding and you guys have given me great advice already, however, I said i was going to go with an Intel chip instead of AMd.. but now I am thinking that I might change that. soo.. What do you guys think of the AMD Athlon 62 X2 5000 Black edition VS Intels E8400 or E7200?

I plan to do some gaming..like crysis, CoD4 and the like..
__________________

Monkey is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 02:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

e7200 and e8400 are faster..

So the faster ones are better in gaming, but I recommend the e7200 out of either of those 3, I wouldn't spend $200+ on an outdated Dual-Core over a Quad-Core
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 04:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 464
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

Is AMD not a good idea for gaming or is Intel just better?
Monkey is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

the intel has more ghz and more cache 6mb, i use to be an amd fan and still am but for the money the intel is better.
pilotguy121a is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

I'm not a fanboy, but I like AMD better... but by no means will I not recommend which is better for the price..

Unfortunately AMD doesn't have it this round, however hopefully they'll come out swinging

AMD has a bit higher clock speeds for most of their stuff, but they are slower clock for clock compared to Intel (that means even that if both are at the same speed, then the AMD is still slower)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

The E7200 is faster than any AMD dual or tri core processor and is also a better overclocker.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 02:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

intels whole c2d series has been pretty good. before that i dont think they were as good as amd for gaming. one advantage they do have is the inbuilt memory controller which seems like it would make alot of difference since its built into the chip and not on the board itself. but i guess in the end intels architecture was better.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 06:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

The latest batch of new Phenom quads are the best yet, but they are still not up to Intel's speeds yet.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 09:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
The latest batch of new Phenom quads are the best yet, but they are still not up to Intel's speeds yet.
in terms of frequency, yes.
65nm Phenom's have about as high performance per clock in gaming as 65nm Core 2 Quad's. They just don't tend to clock as high.

45nm Core 2 Quad's have about 5-10% better performance per clock, though don't always overclock as well as the 65nm ones

I personally buy AMD, because I don't like Intel (the company)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 09:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: AMD or Intel...

i personally would go e7200 only because of nehalem coming out somewhat soon (couple months) and if you wanna upgrade to that then you don't wanna spend 70 bucks more on a quad when its gonna be as outdated as the dual-core's are gonna be with the new socket.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel lawsuit from AMD pushed to 2010, Intel Monopoly! Wildside Polls 30 06-24-2008 05:28 PM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Intel Beats AMD to Lead-Free Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-24-2007 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.