Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2012, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

My dilemma simply is I am looking at the amd fx 4100 and a couple of the phenom ii chips for a gaming build. Which one should I choose? You guys never steered me wrong. I will be using it video editing and gaming. Thanks in advance
__________________

y2adre is offline  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

Phenom 2 all the way.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-06-2012, 10:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

What makes u say that?
y2adre is offline  
Old 03-06-2012, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

Check out the reviews and comparisons of the benchmarks between the 4100 and Phenom II's. I'll just leave the google search link so you can check out several
benchmarks between the 4100 and Phenom II's - Google Search
Joe C is offline  
Old 03-06-2012, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

Thanks guys!
y2adre is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 10:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

Fri a guy wants me to buy his fx 6100 3.4ghz processor for 100.00 is that an okay processor? Also is am3 the same am3+ motherboard?
y2adre is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

I'd say a $100 is a good price for that chip.
What you need to be aware of, is that FX chips require AM3+ boards and not all AM3+ will support an FX chip. Some will require a bios flash and if it does then you'll need an athlon or a phenom chip to flash the bios. Check the web site of the motherboard to see if it will run an FX chip, I do not know of anybody that can guarantee the you will get an updated bios on a new board but most boards I've seen already do
Joe C is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 10:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

Wow! Didn't know that. Why would amd bring out a chip requiring so much work ?
y2adre is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 10:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
y2adre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 259
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

Also too, should I consider an and phenom ii x6 chip over this fx 6100? I know this is annoying, just want to make the right decision
y2adre is offline  
Old 03-09-2012, 09:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Amd fx chips vs phenom ii build question

I've only heard of a couple instances when a AM3+ board did not have an updated bios to run an FX chip. I posted that just to make you aware that the possibility exists, but the odds go down with time as more updated boards are brought into the market
The phenom II x6 is a better performance chip over the 6100 with windows 7, I do think they will run hotter than the 6100 so an upgraded heatsink should be considered but not a requirement at stock speed
__________________

Joe C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build New PC AMD Phenom II X4 965 lautbiru System Upgrades 8 01-14-2010 10:52 PM
AMD Phenom II x4 Build desekoro New Systems | Building and Buying 11 10-23-2009 08:35 PM
Cheapest Phenom X3 build? and monitor question caltraskoo System Upgrades 43 04-07-2009 12:43 PM
AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.8GHz Question bhavik86 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 02-21-2009 01:31 PM
amd phenom II x3's 45nm chips @ the egg tastegw Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 24 02-16-2009 07:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.