AMD ™ Dual Core X 2 Processor 3800 or AMD 64 4000+ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 10:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

yeah, TESIV: OB is gonna be multi-threaded, yeah cannot wait 4 that game
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:00 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vampire_Slayer
I say the x2 3800+. If overclocked to 2.4 ghz, it will perform the same as a 4800+ and it is not uncommon for people to get 2.7 on good air or water-cooling.
it wont perform as well, sense the 4800+ has 2MB of cache
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 06:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
are we sure they will utlizie dual core? well i say go with the 3800+

as always you can OC a dual core processor to single core speeds, but you cant OC a single core processor to dual core speeds

If i recall correctly, F.E.A.R is utilizing dual core
__________________
----<>Shingmaster<>----
http://img284.echo.cx/img284/4325/newsig4re.jpg
Shingmaster is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 03:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yup
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

I found a review that overclocked the 3800+ and compared benchmarks to the 4800+. All in all they performed pretty much the same, although the 4800+ beat it slightly in a lot of areas but also the oced 3800+ beat it slightly in quite a few others. I will try to find the link and post it.

Edit:This looks like the review: http://www.legitreviews.com/article.php?aid=229
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

they should have played Doom3 then the 3800+ would have lost big time!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

i mean, you can get a single core 1MB L2 and get a duel core 1MB L2. so in reality, if a game only ultizes on one core, it only gets 512MB of L2 as opposed to a single core would get 1MB
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

4800+ 1MB*2 so that would be 1MB cache per core, in total its 2MB
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

They did lol. With the 3800 and 4800 running at the same speeds, they scored:

DOOM3
3800@2.4=96.8
4800@2.4=98.8

Very small difference.

But in other games the tides can turn, with minor differences still.

FARCRY
3800@2.4=119.23
4800@2.4=118
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:30 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

ooo i thought the 4800 had 1MB... mah bad. but do you know what i mean if it had 1MB? makes sence right

okay i change my vote to duel core
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Closed Thread

« Sse3? | which ram »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.