AMD Dual core Vs. Intel Dual cores - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 02:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
core due is available just for laptops, not desktop
Nope, they are in desktops.

http://apple.com/macmini
http://apple.com/imac
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 05:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
core due is available just for laptops, not desktop
Nope, there are a few motherboards available for PC Desktop. Core Duo is essentially just a dual core Pentium M. Probably one of the best performing CPUs out right now clock for clock.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 06:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I found it odd that the $350 3800 beats intels $800 dual core processor in many apps, including gaming, and it is almost $500 less and you can overclock the crap out of it too.
macdawg is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 11:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdawg
I found it odd that the $350 3800 beats intels $800 dual core processor in many apps, including gaming, and it is almost $500 less and you can overclock the crap out of it too.
Why do you think so many people have AMD in their sigs here? lol
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 12:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yeah, and anyone that does come to this forum ( or most ppl ) and want to get an intel, leave with the urge to get AMD. its just that much better.............for now............
john3 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 01:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

i would agree... i plan to have my next system overhaul in 08 after the quad core's come out and i think by then AMD will have moved to DDR3 (heard it somewhere... not sure if it's true) and all of this hardcore socket switching will settle down a little bit. It almost seems like AMD is pulling an Intel by introducing a socket and cutting it out or ignoring it so fast (754). Infact i even told my friend that it was going to die soon and is almost dead (this was about 7 months ago) and he still grabbed a 754, agp, etc etc and spent about 1k US! It seems like it was only a little bit ago it came out.

Anyways, i think a lot of ppl are going to stick with AMD anyways because of their reputation, and the fact that it will soon be doing some intense evolving and such... but when doesnt technology do that to you..?

btw - i bought that mag at the airport when i was waiting for my plane .
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 02:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
Nope, they are in desktops.

http://apple.com/macmini
http://apple.com/imac
these are apple computers, i was talking about PC desktops.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 02:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

they are also in PCs i think, im not sure of the name but its one of the moderately expensive dells.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 04:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I would keep an eye on this thread:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...=91792&page=10

A bunch of the top OC'ers all with Yonah ES chips. Still waiting on boards, but it should get interesting. I am guessing a lot of broken records
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.