AMD Dual core or Single core for gaming? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 09:21 PM   #21 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I would get the opteron 165 if I were you, it is about the same price, has double the l2 cache, and it will (99.99% of the time) overclock much better than a 3800+.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:26 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

2.75GHz would be nice 003. What did you do exactly to hit that?
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:41 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

But is it good enough for gaming eh ? ....
__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:42 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

It's more than good enough and when games are cabable of multi cores and 64 bit code then they will be "screaming demons".
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:44 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

Are you talking about the AMD or Intel?
__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:48 PM   #26 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
2.75GHz would be nice 003. What did you do exactly to hit that?
I went into the BIOS and set the HTT to 306
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 11:23 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

thats it?! Did you have to touch the ram settings at all or any other crap like that? I want that setup so bad. Its my dream pc right there. When I get it I will find you my friend...I will have you walk me through step by step
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 11:57 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

So now Dual cores are better .. RIGHT!, Now which one should i go for gaming? Intel's opertrons and Duo's (Intel D) or the AMD X2 series? That is , For gaming.
__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 12:03 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

AMD is the only choice for gaming my man...

http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html

Check out any match up you'd like and see that AMD dominates the gaming realm. Opterons arent on that chart but if you OC they fly like the wind!
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 12:06 AM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Actually AMD makes the Opterons not Intel. I'd go with the AMD X2 personally but your choices are only the Opterons or X2s.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.