AMD Dual-Core optimizer Released - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2006, 03:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
Chazzer3's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3

The only difference I noticed, was that there was no overspeed, and as such I didn't need to change the affinity, I haven't noticed an increase in quality, (san andreas), I usually pull between 60-100fps, so I might have a check and see what I'm getting now if you want?

Charlie -

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 05:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to iharthdarth Send a message via Yahoo to iharthdarth


iharthdarth is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 05:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,030

Mmm i love having double topics!! Search please! Anywho, i saw this on AMDs site about a week or so ago and got it. Dosent do me much justice so i said the **** w/ it. Ill use my dual core for DVD encoding.
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-04-2006, 06:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

eh all my games run fine.....Im too lazy to download it

May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 10:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

well I tried it out and using the two benchmarking programs I have availible right now, cs:s stress test and lost coast stress test I found my framerate dropped by about ~15FPS...mind you my results are skewed as the restart also happened to update my forceware from 84.something to the newer 91.33 so that might explain that

either way I'd probably need to test it in something like FEAR or quake4 as those are "optimized" for dual cores...however I will say this is NOT reverse hyperthreading and looks like nothing more than a modification that improves task managers ability to balance and schedule specific threads to cores

Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.