Which AMD CPU? - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2006, 07:17 PM   #51 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

because you cant compare thier clock speeds bro
you can compare the AMD name to the intel clocks

nothing else
__________________

__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:18 PM   #52 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

ps: you havent been comparing the amd equivelent clockspeeds to the intel chips you ahve been stating the actual clock speeds
__________________

__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:20 PM   #53 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

They've always been better because there are about 5 or 6 people with Conroes and they have been scaling them. That means that they have overclocked and underclocked them and have compared to A64s at different Conroe speeds. Its like having every single Conroe processor in one.

Thats exactly my point, since the Conroe always turns out better in the comparisons, we don't know the clockspeeds at which the two processors would be equal.

But if someone were to hold a gun to my head and force me to spout a ratio, I'd say that the ratio is;

1 (Conroe) :1.333 (A64).

So a 1Ghz Conroe would be like a 1.333Ghz Athlon 64.

Quote:
Originally posted by tehdigit
ps: you havent been comparing the amd equivelent clockspeeds to the intel chips you ahve been stating the actual clock speeds
Thats how the real world works, buddy. You're not going to get the clockspeeds handed to you everytime, you have to figure it out. Please don't make me answer any more ridiculous questions.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:23 PM   #54 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

that ratio isnt to bad.

and again i want to emphasize that i am on your side about the conroe owning and im not picking a fight

just watch how you talk to people. i only post on here so i CAN learn new things. forums would be pointless to me if i was a juggarnaut computer tech
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:27 PM   #55 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Will somebody please lock this? You guys have gotten WAY off topic.

paulliewis - Get an X2, any games in the future that can utiliize both cores would help performance. It'll also help with other everyday tasks you may want to use your computer for.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:30 PM   #56 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

more specifically an AMD x2 4400 if you can afford it

if not go for an AMD x2 3800
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:37 PM   #57 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tehdigit
that ratio isnt to bad.
You're right, it doesn't look that bad at first sight.

Until you remember that CPUs don't operate at the 1Ghz range anymore. Let me rephrase that ratio;

A 2.0Ghz Conroe : A 2.666Ghz Athlon 64.

That would put the 2.13Ghz Conroe in the domain of the 2.8Ghz FX-62.

The fact is only made worse when you consider that the FX-62 costs 4 times the price of the Conroe.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:42 PM   #58 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

by saying the ration isnt bad i wasnt stating that AMD is still close

im not computer illiterate
you are speaking to a resonably intelegent human being with a decent knowledge about computers in general
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:44 PM   #59 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

I know what you meant. But it actually is quite bad. Not as bad as the P4-A64 ratio, but a 2.13Ghz Conroe performing like the Top-Of-The-Line AMD FX-62? Thats bad. Look at it this way; To compete with the 2.66Ghz Conroe, AMD not only has to get a Athlon 64 clocked at 3.55Ghz, but they'd have to cut the price of such a top-of-the-line processor in half to compete with the $530 pricetag of the 2.66Ghz Conroe. To make matters worse, AMD plans to take the Athlon 64s as high as 3.6Ghz, but Intel has a 3.0Ghz+ Conroe Extreme Edition in the works.

As for your second comment, I find that somewhat hard to believe considering your 239 posts and one month on this forum. Just so you know, I hardly have 500 posts, and I've been here a lot longer than my "Joined:" lets on.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 07:50 PM   #60 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

so you will base my computer knowledge on my ammount of forum posts?

that was an idiotic statement
you should probably take it back and reconsider your life
__________________

__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.