AMD Build, Want Revisions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2009, 07:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington. No, no, like the state.
Posts: 81
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

Regarding your question on how well the 940 overclocks, I believe it held (or still holds) the world record for cpu clock? Of course it was using a ridiculous amount of liquid cooling, but you get the point. I had mine at 3.6 with the stock cooler, and now it's at 4.2 with the domino alc.
__________________

Thilly is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 10:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thilly View Post
Regarding your question on how well the 940 overclocks, I believe it held (or still holds) the world record for cpu clock? Of course it was using a ridiculous amount of liquid cooling, but you get the point. I had mine at 3.6 with the stock cooler, and now it's at 4.2 with the domino alc.
yeah, liquid nitrogen. About -180ºC
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 01:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

idk about that PSU. I would go to 700w for future card upgrades imo.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 07:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

Apokos right, in the reviews they said at about 1.5v on the CPU is about the limit before they heat up, but i doubt you will be using that much vcore anyway. for $20 is definitely an awesome deal, its just not a extreme overclocking board.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 11:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 82
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

After the mail in rebate, the mobo is free, so if it breaks, who cares? About the monitor though, it says that it is "Full HD Ready". What does that mean? I am planning on using this computer for college and it will double as a TV. What do I need for this computer to be able to watch live television?
VishKapish is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 01:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

You should also check this out too:

Newegg 2.5% cashback savings!

I don't know if you have access to that forum, but that's a good way to save some more money
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 10:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

Quote:
Originally Posted by VishKapish View Post
After the mail in rebate, the mobo is free, so if it breaks, who cares? About the monitor though, it says that it is "Full HD Ready". What does that mean? I am planning on using this computer for college and it will double as a TV. What do I need for this computer to be able to watch live television?
The monitor has HDMI so you can hook it up to a dvd player or blu ray pretty easily or set top box for digital TV. Otherwise if you wanted to watch through your PC you can get one of these

Newegg.com - Leadtek TV TUNER HDTV200 H PCI Interface - TV Tuners & Video Devices
thats the cheapest HD one i found, although its 1080i which is interleaved, you wont be ging to that high anyway.

it could be worth getting this as i know hauppage s pretty good for tuner cards
Newegg.com - Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1250 Hybrid Video Recorder 1196 PCI-Express x1 Interface - TV Tuners & Video Devices

either way both will let you watch TV just fine, if you dont want HD then just get a cheaper one from newegg.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 08:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 82
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

Just wondering if anyone knew the answer to my previous question, will I need 32 mb of cache for my computer to not bottleneck?
VishKapish is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 08:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Build, Want Revisions

Nah, the cache will give you slightly more performance, but not enough for you to be like , " OMG I SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT THE ONE WITH MOAR CACHESSSSSS"

I remember one time somebody said that, or something like that haha. If you can opt for the 32mb cache one, I'd say go for it!
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Demonstrates Twelve-Core Microprocessors Trotter New Technology and Products 11 05-06-2009 12:24 PM
AMD 940 build SiZcO New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-23-2009 02:16 PM
How is this AMD build. Inked New Systems | Building and Buying 26 01-20-2009 08:45 AM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.