AMD Build - Thoughts? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 10:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default New Build - Thoughts?

What are you thoughts on these parts? (about a $700 budget but i gotta buy RAM and a Tower for some other parts so mostly a $650 budget)

ABIT Fatal1ty AN8 Socket 939 Mobo
I choose the mobo because of the CPU support, the Nvidea 4 chipset, SATA II support, and IEEE ports.

AMD Athlon X2 3800+ 2 x 512kb L2 Cahce

LeadTek Geforce 6600GT

The RAM, PSU, Tower, HD, and DVD drive i already have so now dont suggest any of that (eventually buyin another gig of G.skill to dual-channel it)

G.Skill 1GB RAM DDR 400
HP IDE Lightscribe DVD-Drive
JUST PC 550Watt PSU
Kingwin Mutant X-Series Tower

PC would be used for gamin, aim, msn, internet, stuff like that, movie editing too.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 10:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

I would buy an EVGA video card instead of that one. Only a little bit more money.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214

Plus, ditch that motherboard for this ASUS, it's cheaper, has all the same stuff you want, plus ASUS is a much better brand than ABIT.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540

Get this power supply, or something of equal quality. I know you already have one, but JUST PC doesn't sound like a quality brand. Correct me if I'm wrong.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153028

And when you say "(eventually buyin another gig of G.skill to dual-channel it)" I don't know what you are trying to say here. Are you saying that your going to take the existing RAM that you have and add another gig to make it two gigs? Because that won't make it dual channel. You actually have to buy dual channel RAM. I might have just interpreted it incorrectly though.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 09:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i wouldnt go with a thermaltake PSU, i've heard A LOT of bad things about it. A very good one is the Enermax 535Watt ( i forgot the name but its white) that should allow u to find it easily. here it is
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103462

I agree with optical on the mobo, and th eVGA, because of their new step-up program, so u can just stepup to one of the g8series wen it comes out without having to pay that much.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
i wouldnt go with a thermaltake PSU, i've heard A LOT of bad things about it. A very good one is the Enermax 535Watt ( i forgot the name but its white) that should allow u to find it easily. here it is
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103462

I agree with optical on the mobo, and th eVGA, because of their new step-up program, so u can just stepup to one of the g8series wen it comes out without having to pay that much.
Sorry, didn't mean Thermaltake. Got the wrong link somehow. What I originally meant was the Antec TPII-550W.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 10:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i dont think 550W is necessary, im building a high end gaming CPU and th emost ill ever need is 430Watts, btw you can use the PSU calculator, heres the link......http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
the reason i got 535 is cause of upgrades but other than the the enermax is reliable and alot more than he'll ever need.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 12:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

It looks nice, don't bother switching from Leadtek to eVGA, both manufacturers are amazing, Leadtek is Foxconn's brand, and Foxconn is a solid OEM card maker, so your card will be great, and for 129 its a good price too. I'm just surprised eVGA isn't cheaper, like it usually is.

Why the lightscribe DVD writer? You can't use lightscribe on non-HP DVD-RW's. If that feature is really important to you, you can keep it, otherwise you can save some money by switching to an LG or Lite-On drive.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130484
Heres another motherboard I'd consider better. That Abit motherboard is all colour and flash, and lacks alot of the regular standard features like a serial port (I know it barely gets used, but if you have a satellite reciever or something ^_^). There are also alternatives, but I'm very impartial to MSI, seeing how I own one coming from ASUS, which, I think, sucks, seeing how my last Asus killed everything on my board..

Don't use a crappy power supply, computer parts today require more stable power then before, I'd consider getting something from Antec, Enermax, or PC POWER&COOLING. Antec makes great value power supplies these days.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 04:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

the MSI board was the other board i was looking at and liked alot too. i might just get the MSI board seein its cheaper and money is an issue (after all i have to save some for a PB gun). and like i said at the beginning, i already have the PSU and DVD-drive and they are runnin right now on my P4 system. and for the dual channel thing, dont u just have to have two of the exact same RAM modules?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231046 (thats the ram i have now and would be gettin when i upgrade)

under features it says tested in a dual channel environment
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

i was lookin at some other video cards like:

XFX Geforce 6800XT
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150130

MSI Geforce 6600GT
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127147

i was also lookin at some ATI cards but idk how to tell whihc is which (like for geforce i kno 6600GT isnt as good as a 6800GT etc.) but how do u tell for ATI?

Edit: i just saw that the dual-core opterons are better than the x2s and they OC better too. I think i might get a 165 opteron or the 170 opteron (probably the 165 since its cheaper and is only 200Mhz slower which can easily be made up with OCin) with the MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.