AMD Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2010, 02:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default AMD Build

I already asked about AMD's 6-core processor in a previous post, but i have a few more questions so i figured i would just make a new thread. I'm looking at AMD's chipsets, and I'm wondering which one i should go for. My main focus is gaming, so I've been looking at the 790FX and GX chipsets. So my question is GX or FX or something different entirely?

ASUS M4A78T-E is the current board im leaning towards. And i am planning on running a 965 BE.
__________________

SubFusion is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 02:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: AMD Build

you want a mobo with a 890 chip set

this is a great mother board with awesome features and all the newest technologies a motherboard can have and it has a great price.

Newegg.com - ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890GX HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 03:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: AMD Build

So that board says it supports 2000MHz memory (O.C.'ed). Now could i go with a set of stock 2000 or should i say get a set of 1600 and O.C. myself?

I mean is it worth the extra 400mhz for the price?
SubFusion is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 03:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: AMD Build

no, you will not see any real performance gain with 2000 over 1600, or even 1333 for that matter.

i say get 1333 with low latency timing and overclock it to 1600, but even then, DDR3 is so freaking fast you wont really see any kind of noticeable performance gains in games, maybe in benchmarks, but if comparing your computer to people who spend thousands and thousands of dollars on their computer isnt what gets your butt hole puckered then just go with 1333.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 03:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default

I know being somewhat inexperienced is never a bad thing, but im not totally nub. Its just i haven't had the cash to go modern... I mean, this is the first time i have been able to venture out from my current machine, which is a water cooled P4. lol

So your saying 1333 would be best cause i could always OC to squeeze a tad more out of them?

Now define "low" latency for DDR3, cause im seeing latencies as low as 5, but for DDR2. Im finding DDR3 with a latency of 7, 8, and 9.
SubFusion is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 03:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: AMD Build

correct go with 1333 and overclock it... i have my 1333 overclocked to 1800 m(i have a ram cooler ).

and having a low latency isnt really all that worth it either, just spend what you are comfortable spending on ram, or tell me what your budget is for ram and ill find some good ram, or just tell me what your budget is for a computer and i will put together a " best bang for your buck " build for you.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 04:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: AMD Build

So i went with this :

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM
SubFusion is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 04:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: AMD Build

that would work perfectly
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 09:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: AMD Build

im thinking 2 sets of those. I've read that on 64 bit OS's you generally want more ram, but is 8gb overkill if i wanted to go with Windows 7 64bit?
SubFusion is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 12:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
InsaneJester17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 103
Send a message via AIM to InsaneJester17
Default Re: AMD Build

That's a nice set of RAM. I have those. I haven't tried to OC them yet though.

Unless you're going to be doing a lot of things on this PC (video editing, things like that) you'll be fine with 4gb.
__________________

__________________
OPTIMUS PRIME
AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE OC'd 3.6ghz - 4GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600
30GB OCZ Vertex SSD - 500GB WD Green - Antec Earthwatts 650w PSU
ATI Radeon 4650 - ASRock M3A770DE Mobo - Chieftec Dragon DX-01 Case
InsaneJester17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combine two parts deathville New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-21-2010 07:28 PM
AMD X4 965, X4 630, August Tenenbaum New Technology and Products 5 07-15-2009 03:11 PM
AMD Build, Want Revisions VishKapish New Systems | Building and Buying 18 07-08-2009 08:59 PM
How is this AMD build. Inked New Systems | Building and Buying 26 01-20-2009 08:45 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.