AMD Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2008, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default AMD Build

MOBO:
ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe/WiFi ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ 3.2GHz Socket AM2 125W Processor

CPU Cooler:
ZALMAN CNPS 9500 AM2 2 Ball CPU Cooling Fan/Heatsink

PSU:
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W Power Supply

HDD:
Seagate SV35.3 750GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

RAM:
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual

Tower:
COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black Computer Case

GPU:
MSI GeForce 8800 GT NX8800GT 512M OC Video Card

Fans:
Ether
APEVIA CF12SL-UBL Blue LED Case Fan
or
Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E Case Fan
or
SILVERSTONE FM121 Case Fan

Screen:
Acer X223Wbd Black 22" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor

Probubly gonna get Windows XP SP3 just cause Vista seems sketchy to me. Any one got any advice for this build besides switching to Intel? Little hesitent on the motherboard not sure how new the BIOS is and if im gonna have to update it to run the AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+. But i think this system should atleast boot up to driver and update stages. Any comments or suggestions on this build?
__________________

Iokewe is offline  
Old 06-20-2008, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: AMD Build

why SV35.3 series Hard drive?
PSU- Corsair 550VX
GPU- ATi Radeon 4850
i vote s flex
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Build

Yay!! No forced to switch to Intel

looks good, maybe check out a 5000+ BE instead of the 6400+ or step up to a Phenom 9650

Xigmatek Rifle.. check out the Corsair 650tx instead of the OCZ GameXStream

Link me to that RAM because if its Cas 5, 5-5-5-15, I recommend avoiding it

HD 4850 is pwnage for bang for the buck..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 11:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: AMD Build

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Model
Brand G.SKILL
Model F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK
Type 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM
Tech Spec
Capacity 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Speed DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
Cas Latency 5
Timing 5-5-5-15
Voltage 2.0V - 2.1V
Heat Spreader Yes
Features M/B Chipset
intel X38
intel P35
intel 965
intel 975

Manufacturer Warranty
Parts Lifetime limited
Labor Lifetime limited
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory


Can someone link me a good HD 4850 Graphics Card. Does the Mobo really affect the Card that much? I know the Mobo has the ATI chip in it but shouldn't the 8800 Still be a little better?

heres a link to one HD 4850
Newegg.com - POWERCOLOR AX4850 512MD3-H Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC, CCC
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC, CCC - Power Supplies

and you think i should get that PSU?
Iokewe is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 11:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: AMD Build

also I just moved to Oregon and I left my old computer back home in Hawaii. Shipping cost too much for the trouble so Im going to try build this new computer at college. This computer should boot up just fine right? I shouldn't have to swap in downgraded parts to update it right?
Iokewe is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 11:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AMD Build

Is there a particular reason you don't want to switch to Intel? The Core 2 Duo E7200 is only $130, is faster than the 6400+ x2, and consumes less power. The E7200 is also capable of overclocking to 4ghz on air cooling.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 11:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: AMD Build

if you want to OC then i would reccommend going with either the 5000+ BE as it can hit 6400+ speeds with little to no effort. intel is also good as they have the best bang for the buck proc's.

and the 4850 trounces the 8800gt
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 03:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD Build

Newegg.com - ASUS M3N-HT DELUXE/MEMPIPE AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA nForce 780a SLI HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

always preferred nvidia chipsets, myself.
the mobo you have selected should run a 6400 with no updates.
as stated above, the 5000BE will clock to 3.2-3.4 ghz very easily, and it costs half as much as the 6400. and no, the cache will make not difference (except in a couple of benchmarks), AMD's dont work like that. it is also a 65nm brisbane vs. a 90nm windsor, so it will run a bit cooler, even overclocked.
the e7200 that puddlejumper suggested is also a good chip, but i dont know if the small cache takes a performance hit.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 09:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: AMD Build

Mobo:
ASUS RAMPAGE FORMULA LGA 775 Intel X48 ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

If i were to go intel it would prolly be something like this same parts for everything else just changin up the Mobo and CPU what do you think. And someone said earlier they'd advise to stay away from RAM clocked at 5-5-5 15 ? whats up with that?

though again if i stay AMD should i get the HD 4850 GPU is it really that much better than a 8800GT?
Iokewe is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 09:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Build

Thats like distance, so avoid higher clocked ones... trust me

HD 4850 performs better than a 9800gtx, also the Corsair 750tx is really overkill for your build

I don't recommend X48 because either the x38 P5E or Maximus Formula can be soft modded to run like a Rampage Formula
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new build help sjm80 System Upgrades 13 11-03-2007 12:38 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-22-2007 12:25 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.