AMD Athlon64 3000 Newcastle and gaming - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 38
Default AMD Athlon64 3000 Newcastle and gaming

Hello i am going to buy the AMD Athlon64 3000 Newcastle 2.00GHz processor and was wondering if anyone knew how well it perfoms on games?
__________________

tomcowe is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

are we talking socket 754 or socket 939 here? I think it's socket 754 @ 2.0ghz, but hmm... I'd say it'll do the job any day of the week, but really isn't 'high end' anymore. It's a mid-range phased out chip. It'll do pretty great though as long as you pair it up with a substantial video card.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Its the socket 754 version and i have a Nividia Geforce 6600GT Graphics card. So are you saying that is isnt that good for gaming? Would you recommend the AMD Athlon64 3000 Venice or the AMD Athlon64 3200 Venice or what?
tomcowe is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, if you're not overclocking, you won't see much of an improvement between any of those processor. The socket 939 platform offers dual channel memory operation. THEORETICALLY, it doubles memory bandwidth, but it doesn't. If you can afford a socket 939 setup, I'd go for it! It'll be highly upgradable to any dual core processor made by AMD right now, (excluding socket 940 opterons) and you'll be good for a while. If those are out of your price range, you won't be disappointed with a socket 754 Athlon. Gameplay will still be very good at this point. Don't worry. The 6600GT is a pretty good card and you'll like the way it looks on most games.

But then on the flipside, there's a whole other situation brewing considering your predicament.

If you were to buy a socket 939 board and socket 939 processor, the motherboard would have to support AGP for your 6600GT. So that kinda nukes the entire upgradability thing if you ever want to update your video card. So... It's really up to how much you want to spend.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

.. Why would you want to buy such an old piece of hardware? Just save up for a 3700 or above.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Good idea but i really cant wait to save up for a 3700. You know how it is.
__________________

tomcowe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.