AMD Athlon 64 X2?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2009, 12:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

AMD X2 4600+ 2.4ghz,

what about one of them what are these like?

what are these computers like?

E5200 2.50GHZ DUAL CORE CPU, 2GB DDR2 667MHZ, 500W PSU. on eBay, also, Desktop PCs, Computing (end time 25-Feb-09 22:50:48 GMT)

Other PCs classifieds in Southampton : Custom built PC

*EDIT*

Other PCs classifieds in Christchurch : AMD Athlon 3800+ x2 3Gb ram, 200 Gb HD, 19inch TFT, 6.1 sound
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

go for the pentium dual core. it is better than the athalon 64's
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default

ok thanks

AMD Athlon 4200 Dual Core Processor Motherboard Bundle on eBay, also With AMD CPU, Motherboard CPU Bundle, Desktop PC Components, Computing (end time 13-Mar-09 11:56:21 GMT)


is this any good?

*EDIT*

what about this one as well

AMD Athlon 5200 Dual Core CPU + Motherboard + 2GB RAM on eBay, also With AMD CPU, Motherboard CPU Bundle, Desktop PC Components, Computing (end time 10-Mar-09 21:35:37 GMT)
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 01:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

If you can win the Pentium, go for that. If you don't win it, go for the Athlon 5200.
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 01:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

id like to build a computer i can get a mobo bundle for about 90£+ but then i cant buy a case pcu or HDD
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 02:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

If you want to build a good computer with quality part then you will need to raise more cash. 400 pounds minimum, that's for case, psu, ram mobo, cpu hard drives everything.

That Intel ebay rig has some serious problems. Intel 945 motherboards aren't even supposed to support e5200s. The ram is crap and they don't say what brand the psu is, which means it is crap. otherwise they would advertise it. The only thing usable is the cpu

The other bundles you posted also stink. They use cheap parts.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 06:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

To me the best one so far was the X2 4600. I remember that Antec had huge problems with their PSUs but this one was clearly OK. Other than that it has an antec 900 case, 7800GTX, Asus A8N32-SLi mobo and 2GB of GSkill RAM which was all top notch stuff when it came out. Don't get me wrong, with the exception of the 900, this stuff is about 3 years old but it will be a big upgrade for you and if you managed to sell your current PC for £125 as you mentioned somewhere this will be a big boost for £35 it will need a HDD and OS though which puts a bit of a downer on the whole thing.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 01:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Talking My new RIG!!!

i just put it all together but need the thermal compound stuff to put on the cpu

i bought a

AMD athlon 64 x2 4000+ AM2 dual core
160GB hd
cd/dvd/rw ( all in one)
1GB ram
onboard graphics card upto 256mb

did i do ok?
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 02:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: My new RIG!!!

How much did you pay?
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 02:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: My new RIG!!!

If it was a budget build and depending on the motherboard and the price you paid, yes it looks ok.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo? peter_ming System Upgrades 19 02-05-2009 06:21 AM
Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ p11ma System Upgrades 8 12-06-2008 09:00 PM
which amd athlon 64 6000+ GreenMachine New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-19-2008 05:34 AM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.