AMD Athlon 64 X2?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2009, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default AMD Athlon 64 X2??

are these any good at all? im thinking of buying a system that conatains this and wondering if it will be any good for gameing surfing and multi tasking?

allso what is ubuntu? can anyone tell me
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

I don't know what ubuntu is, but they are decent cpus. I've got one and it does what I need it to. I play bf2, m2tw, ut3, starcraft, and stronghold on it. Intel's chipsets are better, but for the cheap prize, they aren't bad at all.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
I don't know what ubuntu is, but they are decent cpus.
Yea, those Ubuntu processors are sweet. j/k

Ubuntu is a computer operating system based on Linux, and It's free.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

haha not what i meant. I should have seperated those sentences lol.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

The currently available Athlon x2s are old technology. AMD has yet to release dual cores based on their new technology. If you want a dual core AMD chip wait for that, if not there are many newer and better options from both sides.

Ubuntu is an Operating system just like Microsoft windows, except it is free and it is part of the Linux family of operating systems. If you want to know more about Ubuntu then post in the Linux section.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 11:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

what is your budget for a new build?
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Į\_(ツ)_/Į
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt
The currently available Athlon x2s are old technology. AMD has yet to release dual cores based on their new technology. If you want a dual core AMD chip wait for that, if not there are many newer and better options from both sides.
Good advice there. AMD will soon be releasing a dual-core version of the Phenom II that will have 6MB cache in it. It looks to be a great chip.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 04:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

Hey guys thanks for all ur replys!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastegw View Post
what is your budget for a new build?
at the moment is £115 ill have to buy a computer allready build from a shop and mod it
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

You can't afford a decent computer with that budget let alone your cpu and motherboard. You need 400 pounds at the minimum to make a complete build. Someone who lives in the UK could give more accurate numbers than I. I'm just converting.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: AMD Athlon 64 X2??

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
You can't afford a decent computer with that budget let alone your cpu and motherboard. You need 400 pounds at the minimum to make a complete build. Someone who lives in the UK could give more accurate numbers than I. I'm just converting.
Your conversion is about accurate. 400 pounds is like 720 dollars. The only issue is, that prices are a bit jacked up in the UK.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon or Intel Core2duo? peter_ming System Upgrades 19 02-05-2009 06:21 AM
Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ p11ma System Upgrades 8 12-06-2008 09:00 PM
which amd athlon 64 6000+ GreenMachine New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-19-2008 05:34 AM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.