Amd athlon 64 questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Amd athlon 64 questions

ok so i have an amd athlon 64 3500+ and wondered if I put an amd athlon 3200+ in a machine I am going to build if the performance will be noticeable?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

The 3500+ is 2.2 Ghz and the 3200+ is only 2Ghz so yeah there will be a difference. Why would you want to downgrade anyway?
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

because it'll save some money and i am all about saving money.

I mean in video games though will i be able to notice a difference?

I noticed a difference from my intel p4 2.8Ghz to this amd athlon 64 3500+ and it wasn't a minor difference either.
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

no the performance wont be noticible. but if you plan to sell the 3500+ as used and you are buying the 3200+ as new you will loose money.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

the difference b/w the 3500+ and the 3200+ is a lot less than the 3500+ and p4 2.8ghz.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 07:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

ok thanx but is this a good price?

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=4597545

I know its walmart so no need to laugh.
Norcent is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default

Spec wise that's my computer (Compaq SR1750NX) except with a Atlon 64 3700+ as opposed to my 3500+.

It's an okay price for it I guess.
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I don't think so...if you're gonna game, that video card is going to hold you back quite a lot.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

i second that macdude, the video ram is shard as well.

If you must buy a prebuilt, but it from
http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default

Ya the graphics card in mine (XPRESS 200) blows for games.
__________________

__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.