which amd athlon 64 6000+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2008, 05:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default which amd athlon 64 6000+

which amd athlon 64 6000+ ? and would it really be worth it over my 4600+ ?

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 89W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

-or-

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.1GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 89W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________

__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 06:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

Quote: 'and would it really be worth it over my 4600+ ?'


yes! definitely=) , but it depends what your doing with it i guess.

You'll get a decent boost in performance in video games.


Go for the windsor 3.0ghz 2x 1mb L2 cache


i say this because i dont see anything about What core the other one is.

And it also doesnt specify if its 2x512kb cache, or 2x 1mb

Better to go with the one you can be sure about=)

(you may also want to look in to the athlon x2 5400+ black edition, its 72$ free shipping on newegg, and it overclocks to 3.2ghz very easily (i have mine running at 3300 right now)

however it doesnt come with a HSF.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

I upgraded to a 6000+ (Windsor) from a 4600+
Yes, I think it was well worth it. I got the 6000+ to >3.4 100% stable right out of the box, whereas the 4600+ got 2.9 max (2.8 24/7)

Anyway, if you have good cooling I'd suggest the 3.0 windsor over the 3.1 Brisbane, because it has more L2 cache with slightly lower latency.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 11:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

and my 5000+ runs at 3.2ghz 24.7 but i did have it at like 3.37 but wasnt completely stable.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 11:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Putting the X in Sapper
 
SapperX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boulder
Posts: 721
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

It's a good little processor, but as stated by baron a 5000+ can often beat it (notice my sig, I have a 6000+ and am still saying this). Might want to go the cheaper route and just overclock it.

Although if you don't want to overclock, get it!
__________________
My Current PC-
Intel Q6600 G0 |Western Digital 250gb HD
Seagate 500gb HD | Western Digital 500gb HD | VisionTek HD4870 | 4gb Cruical Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800
850w Thermaltake PSU | Cooler Master Centurian 590 | 2x Dell 22" LCD

-900HA EEE pc
SapperX is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 02:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

5400+ BE best AMD dual you can get. Rich has the 5400+ @3.3ghz or something. But still not enough to beat my Super PI :super_happy:
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 03:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

I'm pretty sure 6000+/6400+ Windsors give you the best speeds out of the K8's. I was able to bench at 3495MHZ
Black Edition Brisbane chips can usually be had for less though
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 03:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

6000+ and 6400+ are usually windsors and won't overclock as high. They are also 90nm and 125 Watt TDP. By no means am I calling them slow, at all. But the 65nm Brisbanes have lower TDP's remain much cooler and can over clock just as high as any 6000+ or 6400+

With the exception of this 6000+

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000&#43; 3.1GHz 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 89W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Its 65nm and 89 Watt TDP so it might be able to get a decent overclock.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 03:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
6000+ and 6400+ are usually windsors and won't overclock as high.
No, in my experience, AMD's 90nm chips are pretty well optimised, and will often get at least 3.4

In fact, I think 90nm at AMD was one of their best nodes
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 03:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: which amd athlon 64 6000+

I m not denying they can get at least 3.4ghz. I m just claiming that similar 65nm Brisbanes are able to attain 3.4ghz as well. While they are newer tech and are able to reach the same overclocks with less heat.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soyo Dragon Ultra KT400 + AMD Athlon XP 2400+ 95BlackGA Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-27-2008 02:14 PM
AMD to make "significant corporate announcement" tomorrow, possibly breaking up Wildside Polls 8 10-11-2008 07:59 PM
Is this heatsink ok to use with a overclocked athlon 64 x 2 6000? Trent5281 Overclocking and Modding 4 09-22-2008 02:18 AM
Athlon X2 Is Dead; Long Live Athlon 6000 Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-02-2008 02:47 AM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.