AMD Am2 - thermal paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2006, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default AMD Am2 - thermal paste

Hi,

I just got my X2 3800+ and ZALMAN CPU fan , i just want to ask is it necessary to use the thermal paste when install the cpu?


because in AMD video - use thermal paste only when frequently remove the CPU fan


pls advice
__________________

__________________
madking153 is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

I'd really advise you to put thermal paste of some kind
__________________

__________________
persianxballer is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 05:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

The stock thermal pad will do fine. But, some good thermal paste like AS5 is better.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

so all people suggest me to use the thermal paste?
__________________
madking153 is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

another thing, how i apply the thermal paste on the AMD X2 Am2 cpu ?
__________________
madking153 is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

i think its the same as any cpu... put some on it a spred it evenly not too much .. somebody else might have a lil better explaation bc im hungry!!!!! im out, TYYYK
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 02:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

so i should put the paste on the surface where the cpu and the fan contact ?
__________________
madking153 is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 02:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Apply a cooked rice sized amount of paste to the top of the cpu.
__________________
brinks is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 02:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,217
Default

actually, on the as5 site it says to apply a line straight down the middle
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.