AMD or AM2 ???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 01:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 119
Default AMD or AM2 ????

K, I had my mind set on AMD 4400+ and 2 GB OCZ PLatinum and Asus A8N - SLI Mobo, but now I see that AM2 came out, and it's different socket and u need different Ram as well. So I'm confused right now. This will b my first custom build and I don't know much about specs to find out if it's really worth to step up to AM2 setup ??? Should I just stick with what i wanted to build from beggining or should I upgrade to AM2, also what CPUs r good from AM2 in no more than $600 price range ?
__________________

sumik is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 02:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

yes, go with am2.try this proccesser.http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=401101
Its 492.98 CAD if you convert it from gbp to cad
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 05:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

am2 is a flop
i wouldn't even suggest that to my worst enemy.

i'd go x2 however instead of the single core you were lookin' at.
many many more options for mobo than am2 (that work great!) plus...ddr2 sucks imo
or...if you want ddr2 that bad..wait for new intel conroe that "supposidly" work great with it to form your final decision.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 06:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

I'd wait, july 23'rd is the date that the AMD's x2 prices will drop, AM2/ S939 doesn't make any diffrence at the moment when it comes to performence-wise, but probably AM2 is the way to go for future upgradability.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 06:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

There is always the possibility of the reverse hyperthreading that's built into the AM2's being true. If that's the case then one would be better off going AM2 if they were deciding between socket 939 and AM2
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 07:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
I'd wait, july 23'rd is the date that the AMD's x2 prices will drop, AM2/ S939 doesn't make any diffrence at the moment when it comes to performence-wise, but probably AM2 is the way to go for future upgradability.
I fully agree, the only upgrades (well the major ones) that the AM2 offers uis that its mroe energy efficient and it fully supports DDR2. AMD put ALOT of time into developing the memory controllers on the 939 socket, which handles DDR VERY well. Currently the difference is negligable, but in a couple of years when its more developed (and cheaper) it might be worth it to switch.

Also stated earlier was to go with a X2 after 7/23. This is exactly what Im going to do. Dual core at a lower clock (which can be OC'd) is going to be much better than a singel core at a higher clock (I definitly plan on OC'ing, so I should have the best of both worlds).

And even with the idea of RHT, I think it will stil take a couple years for it to be perfected so that it works all the time at its fullest capacity. (i.e. let other people work out all the kinks)
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

just wait until the release of conroe before you make up your mind. i'm sure you could wait 20 days. given the choice between AM2 and s939 i would still go s939 given the price drops we should get soon and the fact that by the time AM2 has anything new to offer i reckon i could upgrade again anyway.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 08:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

then why not save the cash and just buy an am2? There isn't any performence diffrence between the two, if any, am2 is a little better IMO.

O.T.: hey nitestick, please drop by in my post about water cooling kits incase you haven't notice it yet, I'd like to hear you'r opinion.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

will am2 proccesser prices drop with the conroe release? not just dual core ones
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

they alreay had a price drop!!!!!!!
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.