AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2013, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

Hey guys, I'm working with an investor to make a bunch of Litecoin mining rigs.

I'm looking to buy parts locally, so I need to work with the cheapest MOBO+CPU combo available to me.

Unfortunately, my local retailer doesn't have Sempron 145's which are ideal in my case. Cheapest thing is an A6-5400K.

TL;DR Will I be able to disable the integrated HD 7540D and run 4x HD 7970's with an A6-5400K? The 7970's might be mixed with an R9 280X or two.




.
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 10:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

I don't think there are any FM2/FM2+ boards that have 4 PCI-E slots actually. You'd probably be better off getting a cheap 1150 Celeron if it's available and finding a 4 slot board for that.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

Good call, I was considering that only recently. Any recommendations? I'm browsing through them now.


I'm also gonna need some input on the PSU for this. Are 1200+ Watt power supplies without question absolutely necessary?
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

G/L 4pci-e boards are expensive...

You and run 2 600s and chain them.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

Yes. 4 7970/280xs will take about 1000w just by themselves. A 1200w Seasonic or Corsair PSU is what I would recommend. Either the Seasonic Gold X or Corsair AXi.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
G/L 4pci-e boards are expensive...

You and run 2 600s and chain them.
Canada Computers | Motherboards | Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC Socket 1150 Intel Z87 Chipset | Dual Channel DDR3 2933(O.C.) MHz, 2x PCI-Express 3.0 x16 | Giga LAN, 6x SATA 6.0Gb/s, 10x USB 3.0 | Display Port/Mini DP/HDMI, ATX

$199 isn't too bad. It eliminates having to use risers which are going to cost me about $60 anyway and I don't have immediate access to them which is important.

I'm having a hugely hard time finding a 1200 W power supply of any kind right now in the Montreal area.

I wouldn't be down to chain PSUs.
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

Wasn't hard, right on the site you just linked.

Canada Computers | Power Supplies | Seasonic X-1250 Fully Modular 80PLUS Gold 1250W PSU (SS-1250XM Active PFC F3)
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

I mean for local pick up.

(btw, it's been a while. I think you used to have the avatar like a pedestrian sign but with a guy on a computer?)
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

You're going to be hard pressed finding the proper materials you need to do this locally. Mining isn't something you really want to cheap out on, especially if you want to run 4 high powered cards 24/7. And this is coming from somebody who lives within driving range of 2 Fry's, a Microcenter, and several Best Buys. Your only other option is to just double up which could cause some issues.

Edit: Nope that would be Trotter the admin.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: AMD A6-5400K + 4x HD 7970

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkwürdigeliebe View Post
Good call, I was considering that only recently. Any recommendations? I'm browsing through them now.
Read this here:
BIOSTAR Hi-Fi A85W FM2 AMD A85X (Hudson D4) HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard - Newegg.com

Next read this:
Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, Motherboards, Intel Motherboards, LGA 1155, LGA 1150, 4

:/

Now look at this
Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, Motherboards, Intel Motherboards, LGA 1155, LGA 1150, 2

Honestly if your building coinop machines, I suggest getting a motherboard with pci-e x2 slots.

If you have the money to come out of pocket 286.00 a board more power to you.
Lastly have you considered gearing more towards the higher end am3 phenom quads or lower end fx series under 110.00 bucks ?

Not trying to make this hard for you, but give you some different alternatives.
I'd be interested to know what the coinops might be for.
Once I know that I may suggest something to match your needs.

Have a good day.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.