AMD 790GX ATX motherboards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2009, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

Hey guys how'z everyone doing ?!
been a while..

I am all set to pair my AMD X2 250 Regor (3.0 Ghz) with an AMD motherboard.
Looking for an igp solution, I decided to go with the Hd3300 chipset instead of
the hd 3200.

Here are the two motherboards I am having a tough time deciding:

GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H and ASRock AOD790GX/128M


Which of these is a good motherboard?

I wont be overclocking my cpu so which of these will stay cooler on stock settings with stock heat sink and fan?

One of these boards boasts 140W support. Does that mean it will support a cpu that draws a maximum of 140W or is it for the entire system?


all advice is appreciated and looking for atx motherboard only with reliability and amd igp that supports this processor.
__________________

blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

def go with gigabyte. they make very good quality boards. i have one.

asrock is kindve cheap and crappy.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
def go with gigabyte. they make very good quality boards. i have one.

asrock is kindve cheap and crappy.

hey thanks for the advice! which one have you got bro?
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

the one in my sig, lol

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

gotten my q9300 up to 4GHz
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
ahaha
are you mocking me ?! lol

dude.. i am a poor guy on a budget trying to secure a build with amd!

someone help me out!
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

no, not mocking. sorry if it sounded like that.

just pointing out that gigabyte makes awesome mobos
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 11:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

Newegg.com - JetWay JHA08-LF AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

I'd get that instead of either of those boards... from the looks of it this board has more chokes vs either of the other two

Btw, you do know that the only difference between an HD 3200 and HD 3300 is a 250mhz in Core increase right? It would be easier to get a cheap Jetway JHA06 (780G chipset) and buy the HD 4350 which is going for $20, and then OC the IGP from 500mhz to 750mhz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 11:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Newegg.com - JetWay JHA08-LF AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

I'd get that instead of either of those boards... from the looks of it this board has more chokes vs either of the other two

Btw, you do know that the only difference between an HD 3200 and HD 3300 is a 250mhz in Core increase right? It would be easier to get a cheap Jetway JHA06 (780G chipset) and buy the HD 4350 which is going for $20, and then OC the IGP from 500mhz to 750mhz
I don't really think that choke thing is a huge deal. If i recall some guy just started talking about it and you had no idea what it was until he explained it to you. Besides him and you I've never seen chokes mentioned when looking at motherboards.

Regardless of chokes though, jetway is not a very good brand. Yeah this forum has some success stories, but just look at the newegg reviews. Yes newegg reviews are sometimes bad, but usually something that is DOA is not jsut a dumb reviewer. That board has way too many failures on newegg for it to be trusted.

Go with that gigabyte or even this...
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE TA790GX 128M AM3&#47;AM2&#43;&#47;AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Hikari and I both have the board. Has great reviews. Can Overclock very well, and the onboard graphics are more than capable.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 05:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
I don't really think that choke thing is a huge deal. If i recall some guy just started talking about it and you had no idea what it was until he explained it to you. Besides him and you I've never seen chokes mentioned when looking at motherboards.
It's called power regulation. It's important if you have a high-end CPU and you intend to overclock (or if you intend to get a high-end CPU and overclock it)

I'm sure my K9A2 Platinum was holding back the overclock of my Phenom II 940. I know it was holding back my 6000+ a bit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
Regardless of chokes though, jetway is not a very good brand.
Brand isn't everything. Every board is different, and every brand will have boards of varying quality.
The HA06-GT is actually quite a good board, and so is the HA07 (actually, it's basically the same board). I don't know what the HA08 is actually like, though 9 reviews isn't exactly a very large sample size to decide on a board's quality. For all we know, there could be a hundred people with the board happy with it who did not write any reviews.

Still, I'd suggest the HA06-GT. I would go so far as to say it's proven itself a good board. Being from Jetway isn't going to magically turn it into something bad.

If you get it in combo with a Phenom II 940, it's quite cheap:
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
That's hardly more than an X2 250 plus 790X-UD4P would cost you.
Though the 790X-UD4P is quite a good board too. It's what I'm planning on replacing my dead MSI K9A2 Platinum with (partly because I need 8 SATA ports)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 06:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: AMD 790GX ATX motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
It's what I'm planning on replacing my dead MSI K9A2 Platinum with (partly because I need 8 SATA ports)

Dead already ?! how come ? Please do share
__________________

blue-lynx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD to demo GPU physics at GDC next week thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 11 03-21-2009 11:53 PM
Anybody have abit AN9 32X Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI ATX AMD ?? zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-26-2007 03:56 PM
with the AMD Phenom in mind (Am2) game motherboards?? Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 15 10-25-2007 03:09 PM
AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 90 09-17-2007 07:56 PM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.