AMD 64 Necessary? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 07:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 37
Default AMD 64 Necessary?

Im not the smartest person with computers so i need some answers. I have a Celeron (R) 2.66 Ghz processor. I need to know if their will be a noticeable difference in most of my games framerates, texture, or both if i upgraded with a 2.4 Ghz AMD athlon 64.

Here are my basic computer specifications. ( Basically important comp specifications with games )

RAM : 1024mb
Video : Ati visiontek xtasy radeon 256mb
Sound : Sound blaster audigy SE
Processor : Intel Celeron (R) 2.66 Ghz
__________________

Twinfun2 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yes you will see a significant improvement with performance of games. You would then have to change the motherboard if you want an AMD.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Also depending on the motherboard you get, you may have to get a new gfx card.

Just keep in mind that if you want to keep your old one, you'll need to buy a motherboard wiht agp and not pci-e
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya you need a new mobo, a amd 64 would help. and the part that would help out the best with your games frame rates is a new video card, pci-e would be best. somethin like a 7600 or even a 6800
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.