AMD 64 gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 74
Question AMD 64 gaming?

Hi im building an AMD Athlon 64 gaming system and was wondering if you guys could help me out with the core
(im an Intel guy).

I was thinking of a A64 Venice 3800+ or a San Diego 4000+

I dont what the 3800+/4000+ means or what the names mean (as i said, Intel man) so if you could help me out it would be aprecciated.

Cdiablo
__________________

Callan is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

They're simply the names given to them. The higher the number goes, the better for those models. The main difference between the 3800 and 4000 is the 4000 has double the L2 cache of the 3800 (from 512kb to 1mb). The cores are different too; the differences are listed here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athlon_64. A way to compare the Athlon line to the Pentium 4 line is by the numbers. For example, an Athlon 64 3200+ (make the first two digits 3.2) is comparible to an Pentium 4 3.2ghz. I am not sure how accurate that is, but it's a basis of comparison.

Those two single-core processors are around the price of the X2 3800+, and the 4000+ is actually over it. I'd suggest going for the X2 3800+, because it's dual-core.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562

Or the Opteron 165 if you want to get a CPU that'll overclock like mad: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Thanks but i dont really think i need dual core at the moment but i will check out the Opteron so thanks for the info.

Cdiablo
__________________
\"Our only purpose here on earth is to breed, and breed we shall\"-Random ol\' uncle AL.

Cdiablo
Callan is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Whats the difference between Opteron 150 and A64 SD 4000+?
And will the Opteron work with a DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra D?

Cdiablo
__________________
\"Our only purpose here on earth is to breed, and breed we shall\"-Random ol\' uncle AL.

Cdiablo
Callan is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

you'll be kicking yourself later for not getting dual core
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Why i dont see the point? And there so slow.

Cdiablo
__________________
\"Our only purpose here on earth is to breed, and breed we shall\"-Random ol\' uncle AL.

Cdiablo
Callan is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

well i'm kinda a noob too to these things, but i do know one thing and thats even though the AMD's don't have as high of Ghz ratings as Intels they still go much faster. for instance if you go around looking at forums and such you'll hardly ever hear an AMD guy going to Intel or an Intel guy trying AMD and going back...basically once people try AMD's they seldom want to mess around with Intels anymore unless they're only doing it for extreme multi-tasking business computers.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Oh yeah. and AMD's overclock much better and more stable as well so you'll end up with a better CPU than you pay for.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 60
Default

Go X2, you dont notice much improvement as far as processors go today in gaming anyways, today's games are entirely graphics card dependent. Multithreaded games like UT2007 will like dual core CPUs better.
BioT3ch is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

originally the numbers were comparative.

the athlon xp 3200+ ran at like 2.2ghz, but ran as fast as a 3.2ghz competitor
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.