AMD 64 Bit Sempron??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 02:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default AMD 64 Bit Sempron???

Is this for Desktops? I'm going to build my brother a very inexpensive computer but can still game For the most part. Not maxed out. But at least run on a medium state. I came across this.... Would this work in a normal Windows XP based DESKTOP???

AMD Sempron 64 2800+ 800MHz FSB Socket 754 Processor - Retail $75.50
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104245


Lemme know please. Thanks guys
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

it should work for a budget machine. If you can spend a little more, there's the AMD Athlon 64 2800+ at $124. I was looking at it for a budget machine for my cousin.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103491
__________________

Shannon is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

It'll work. It's not great, but hey, a 64 bit processor for 75 bucks, who's arguing with that?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Sempron are like amd celerons my friend has one and it runs games but not on a very high level
funami is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Ya, I'm getting my friend the 2500 for his uber budget gaming comp. I'd stay away from the 2600 as it only has a 128mb chache, but the 2800 is a good buy.

I'm using a non 64bit sempron 3000 for this laptop and it runs stuff great. The quality difference between the athalons and the semprons isn't as bad as pentiums and celerons.
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.