AMD 4x4 surprise - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 07:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gerry_W
OMG. pwned.

I agree with The General and Nubius. They're trying to shove this overpriced ****e down our throats. Greedy bastids.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I was not agreeing with Nubius, how could you agree with both of us? Well, I guess in a way I was, but only in the fact that some people don't care about money. I think Nubius would disagree with what I said about how it's a good thing that they are making these advances.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 07:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

notice that the article says you can connect any two processors that are at a lower price. this seems to be no different than the idea of 2p server except its a gaming computer now. im actually looking forward to the performance that these things are going to put out
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 08:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Morons......doesn't matter if it 'dethrones' it if it costs 20x as much.
Made me laugh.

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Those people need to DIE as they are the reason that these companies are making these outlandish ideas.
I totally agree.

Quote:
Originally posted by Running
notice that the article says you can connect any two processors that are at a lower price. this seems to be no different than the idea of 2p server except its a gaming computer now. im actually looking forward to the performance that these things are going to put out
I don't see where it says that you will be able to connect 2 weaker cores. Only that it will cost a lot, will be for the ultra-high-end, and will be focused on the FX series.

This is going to result in 4 cores overall, correct? Its hard enough to write code for 2 cores, I'd like to see how they're going to manage 4, lol.
Infomatic is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 08:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Quote:
This is going to result in 4 cores overall, correct? Its hard enough to write code for 2 cores, I'd like to see how they're going to manage 4, lol.
True...... BUT.... image the multitaskin ....... i kno i cant image even multitaskin on a dual-core since on my P4 i can multitask like crazy. (V-Scan, AIM, MSN, Internet, Burnin DVD, Spybot S&D all at once, no lag, maybe some slow down but barely any.)
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 08:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

woops my bad on my previous post, read "price at any cost" wrong. thought price at any cost meaning 100-1000. im embarrassed hehe.
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 08:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Yea, I was about to add that the multitasking would be good. But a Dual Core + 2GB memory + Raptor HDD is all you need for a fast multitasking machine anyway. All that would still cost less than a 4x4 system.
Infomatic is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 09:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Infomatic
Yea, I was about to add that the multitasking would be good. But a Dual Core + 2GB memory + Raptor HDD is all you need for a fast multitasking machine anyway. All that would still cost less than a 4x4 system.

yay I have that

*proud of self


But I agree with nubius, Those people DO need to die.


Quad SLI and such is all there fualt!

its like enthuiasts versus rich people...and it sucks..
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 11:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

I hate intel.... but intel has to be laughing their asses off at that. Amd should have stayed quiet, and spent their time and money getting the next thing out the door. BTW does anyone know why they're calling it 4x4 and not 2x2? Doesn't matter I guess.
Sui is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 12:14 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Infomatic
Made me laugh.



I totally agree.


I don't see where it says that you will be able to connect 2 weaker cores. Only that it will cost a lot, will be for the ultra-high-end, and will be focused on the FX series.

This is going to result in 4 cores overall, correct? Its hard enough to write code for 2 cores, I'd like to see how they're going to manage 4, lol.
I guess this is where reverse HT takes effect. You'd only have to code for one, when it would actually be using more than one.
The General is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 12:23 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

I've mentioned about a dozen times before that RHT only works once. It cannot make 4 cores into 1. It can only turn 2 cores into 1 core, or 4 cores into 2 cores. Anything more just doesn't fit into the process.

And RHT is a more of a rumor than Core Multiplexing. With every passing day, I doubt its existence even more. We're supposed to find out the day after Conroe is released, so I won't make any final judgements yet, since its easily implemented.
__________________

Infomatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.