AMD 4x4 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 06:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
And here lies the problem. All the programs that take advantage of a dual core CPU, will not take advantage of quad cores. They would have to be re-written to actually make use of the 2 extra cores. It's like playing Quake 3 with SLI, there is no improvement because it is not written to support it. That, and the fact that it will be insanely expensive.
I thought it was single-threaded and multi-threaded? If you code single-threaded apps, they run best on single cores, and multi-threaded apps run bust on 2+ cores.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 06:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Its the same way w/ PhysX cards right now, eventualy it will be welcomed like 2gig of ram. Just chill on it, im sure they know what they are doing. I look at it this way, they are the ones making the big bucks, not us, so lets let them decide whats best shall we? Its pointless to argue over it and just stick our own feet in our mouth when we find out were wrong.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Isn't AMD working on a reverse hyperthreading thing? Wouldn't that be a solution to all these damned cores?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Its the same way w/ PhysX cards right now, eventualy it will be welcomed like 2gig of ram. Just chill on it, im sure they know what they are doing. I look at it this way, they are the ones making the big bucks, not us, so lets let them decide whats best shall we? Its pointless to argue over it and just stick our own feet in our mouth when we find out were wrong.
I doubt Aegia is making much money of the PhysX cards. I really don't see them going anywhere with it. Even their own game created just for the PhysX card didn't get much added when playing with and without the PhysX card.

It's always fun to debate (not argue) about these kinds of things because they affect our lives. And if you are wrong, it won't kill you.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Its like ive been saying all along, just like SLI it needs to be built upon and perfected for it to work properly. It just came out and you guys are dogging it. Wait for it to be worked upon and some games to actualy start using it. I remember the first DX9 games, they sucked. Remember?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
Isn't AMD working on a reverse hyperthreading thing? Wouldn't that be a solution to all these damned cores?
Yes, they are working on something like that. It would make 2+ physical cores look as though it is one. This would increase the performance in single-threaded applications. Personally, I want to know what it is going to do on multi-threaded applications? Would it make them slower? Or what if you run 2 apps at the same time, would that be slower with ReverseHyperThreading on?

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Its like ive been saying all along, just like SLI it needs to be built upon and perfected for it to work properly. It just came out and you guys are dogging it. Wait for it to be worked upon and some games to actualy start using it. I remember the first DX9 games, they sucked. Remember?
SLI is a good idea, but it isn't too realistic. Why spend double the amount of money of video cards for about 5%-10% increase? I really think SLI may be in danger with the next-gen card releases. SLI has been solid since its release. Crossfire has been through many hurdles, but with ATI's X1900 series, Crossfire is amazing. I would like to see how much SLI/Crossfire increase with the next gen cards. I think a neat idea would be to put 2 GPU's (or a dual core GPU) on one board instead of having to waste space and have 2 very large cards. Have the SLI/Crossfire interconnect built into the card.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 07:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
I thought it was single-threaded and multi-threaded? If you code single-threaded apps, they run best on single cores, and multi-threaded apps run bust on 2+ cores.
No. Thats not how it works.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 08:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Quote:
I think a neat idea would be to put 2 GPU's (or a dual core GPU) on one board instead of having to waste space and have 2 very large cards.
They have these and they suck as bad as SLI does. Dual core GPUs though, thats something to think about.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to loosejello
Default

Aren't the G80s supposed to have dual core GPUs?
loosejello is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 10:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
They have these and they suck as bad as SLI does. Dual core GPUs though, thats something to think about.
The ones you are refering to weren't tested/research/built by Nvidia. They were pretty much just a really hardcore mod to put 2 cards into one. If Nvidia (or Ati) had the right motivation they could get that idea working.

Quote:
Originally posted by loosejello
Aren't the G80s supposed to have dual core GPUs?
I haven't heard anything about it, and I don't want to completely throw away the idea. But I doubt it.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.