AMD 4x4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 02:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default AMD 4x4

Here's some news on those AMD 4x4 setups

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...602090104.html
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

it's garbage best to not be informed about it. AMD better get back in gear soon. They have nothing on their roadmap till 2007 so it looks like they may be hurting this year.

Just as usefull as SLI
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

i kinda had that feeling.

CAn you elaborate as to why it's garbage though?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gurusan
i kinda had that feeling.

CAn you elaborate as to why it's garbage though?
It will not provide anywhere near the performance for the price you will pay for it. Probably won't be able to be utilized completely either.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
Just as usefull as SLI
I'm gonna sue you for copyright violations stop stealing my lines! I said that first :beard: lol

But it is true...... this is total junk.. and my guess is that its gonna be made for servers and not the normal desktop pcs, and still a xeon will beat it easly
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

A Xeon will not beat out an Opteron 8** series in a quad setup.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 06:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Yoad
But it is true...... this is total junk.. and my guess is that its gonna be made for servers and not the normal desktop pcs, and still a xeon will beat it easly
They have that for servers already. This is aimed at enthusiasts and gamers.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 06:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

yet it will be worthless.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 06:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

I can remember not to long ago when ppl where saying 2gig of ram was worthless, so dont get ahead of yourself.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 06:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
They have that for servers already. This is aimed at enthusiasts and gamers.
And here lies the problem. All the programs that take advantage of a dual core CPU, will not take advantage of quad cores. They would have to be re-written to actually make use of the 2 extra cores. It's like playing Quake 3 with SLI, there is no improvement because it is not written to support it. That, and the fact that it will be insanely expensive.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.