AMD 4000 or AMD X2 4200 ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2006, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Question AMD 4000 or AMD X2 4200 ???

What would be a better way to go for gaming...

AMD 4000 939 socket
or
AMD X2 4200 939 socket

The 4000 runs at 2.4 ghz with a 1mb cache
The X2 4200 runs at 2.2 ghz with a 512mb x 2 cache

I like to have msn open when I am playing my games but other than that I don't really do any hardcore multitasking.
Your opinions would be appreciated!
__________________

dave39 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well I here the x2's are the bad as*es of AMD for gaming right now, if I had the choice I would go with it.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 02:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I would go dual core even if you don't multi-task a ton.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 04:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

I'd say go for the X2 4200 if you have to pick from those two. However, I'm not a big fan of the X2 4200 personally. It's just a 200mhz jump over the X2 3800 for $60. The 4400, while a good bit more expensive, provides 200mhz more than the 4200 and double the L2 cache. The best option in my opinion, if you're willing to overclock, is to go with an Opteron 165. Benefits: Cheaper, double the L2 cache, and will effortlessly overclock to the speeds of the 4200, and even skyrocket way past that. You should be able to get more performance than the 4200 can ever get, at a lower price.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NathanM
I'd say go for the X2 4200 if you have to pick from those two. However, I'm not a big fan of the X2 4200 personally. It's just a 200mhz jump over the X2 3800 for $60. The 4400, while a good bit more expensive, provides 200mhz more than the 4200 and double the L2 cache. The best option in my opinion, if you're willing to overclock, is to go with an Opteron 165. Benefits: Cheaper, double the L2 cache, and will effortlessly overclock to the speeds of the 4200, and even skyrocket way past that. You should be able to get more performance than the 4200 can ever get, at a lower price.
The 4400+ is clocked the same as the 4200+ which is 2.2Ghz, it just has more L2 cache. You'll have to buy a 4800+ to get 2.4GHz with 1MB cache per core.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 12:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

4200+ is easily the better of the two you mentioned, but if you can manage it I'd move up to the 4400+. Like NathanM said, way more overclocking potential.

Dan
__________________

dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.