AMD 3700 754 socket w/ Clawhammer core. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default AMD 3700 754 socket w/ Clawhammer core.

This is the processor I have and am going to use in my PC build. I just want to know some specs on it. The site I bought it from said the bus speed was 1600 MHz, other sites say 800 MHz. What is it?

I know it isn't the best and it's using the older 754 socket, but I am building my PC on a tight budget. I am making the switch from Intel to AMD, so let me know what I can expect when I get the rest of the parts to finish it. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 02:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

wtf why mot get a 939 venice?
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

clawhammer core = bad!

i have a athlon 64 3200+ clawhammer and it generates as much heat as a 4000+ san diego.

and there is no mobos supporting 1600 mhz FSB. the highest i know of is 1000 mhz.
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

So I got a complete piece of junk or what?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

No and the DFI supports 1600mhz. The 3700+ is the best you can get for S754 so if your on a tight budget and already have it then its a good deal. The only difference between S939 and S754 thats noticeable is the memory controler. One uses dual channel ram the other (754) dosent. Its pretty good so dont sweat it.
Quote:
wtf why mot get a 939 venice?
I hate stupid coments like that. He said hes on a budget and already has the cpu, read the **** post first.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 04:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
No and the DFI supports 1600mhz. The 3700+ is the best you can get for S754 so if your on a tight budget and already have it then its a good deal. The only difference between S939 and S754 thats noticeable is the memory controler. One uses dual channel ram the other (754) dosent. Its pretty good so dont sweat it. I hate stupid coments like that. He said hes on a budget and already has the cpu, read the **** post first.
Thanks for the help. The mobo I got says it has 1600 MHz front side bus. http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/...es=1&model=271
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 05:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

That seems like a good board. I dont think youll have any problems. The only problem i can see is that FX5500
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 05:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
That seems like a good board. I dont think youll have any problems. The only problem i can see is that FX5500
Don't hate on my $45 card! LOL j/k

It's basically just something to hold me over until I can save up to buy something better.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 05:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

If you can wait then get a 7800GS. Supposed to come out in february and be AGP only.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 06:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I read some benchmarks on that sucker... looks like they should call it the 7600 or something. It's not worthy of 7800 status. MAYBE call it the 7800 vanilla or something...

When they're talking about 800mhz, it's the same as the 1600mhz. When they're talking about 1000mhz, they're talking about the same features as 2000mhz.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.