AM3 mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2009, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default AM3 mobo?

I know that I won't be buying a mobo for a couple months, and new ones may come out by then. I think I have asked about specific mobo's before, but that was when I was planning on getting an AM2/AM2+/AM3 board, whereas I now plan on getting an AM3 DDR3 board.
My requirements are as follows:
-6 onboard USB connections. Unless there would be another way to hook up my 4 front panel usb, card reader, and wireless antenna.
-790FX/SB750 chipset
-enough space around CPU socket for TRUE-120 with dual fans
-140w CPU support would be nice(not completely necessary) for possible future upgrades, but planned CPU is the x3 720BE

I checked out Tom's Hardware 790FX AM3 Roundup. Which steered me towards the M4A79t Deluxe as I wasn't worried about the "awkward" placement of a few connections on bottom/rear of board(which was their biggest problem with it). I was torn between the asus and gigabyte boards up until then, and with the gigabyte only having 4 onboard usb connections, my mind was made up.

Then I saw the ASUS crosshair III board. Being as I have no need whatsoever for 4 PCI-E slots, I was quite enticed by the crosshair. My plans for the board are max overclock using the TRUE-120 copper and x3 720, and thats really it. The main purpose of this build is to get acquainted with overclocking. Then attempt a record OC/benchmark with the x3 720 on air. I will be doing some minor computer programming(if i get the time), Photo editing(nothing professional), internet, movies, and serve as my home jukebox.

To wrap this whole post up into one sentence. Whats the best Overclocking/reliable AMD mobo i could buy if i don't ever plan on having more than 2 graphics cards?
__________________

__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 10:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AM3 mobo?

From what I read the Crosshair III is a bit of an improvement over the M4A79T Deluxe. Like you mentioned before on the M4, that the placement of some components are awkward, which seem to be corrected on the C III. It also comes with a better sound card than the M4.

Both should overclock similarly to each other, but I've read that the C III has an easier and more intuitive BIOS. This should be better for you to get you started on overclocking. If your budget allows, I would pick the C III. If it doesn't, then the M4 is still going to get you a great overclock regardless.

*edit*
hahaha nice find aliasaid
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: AM3 mobo?

awesome, thanks much for the help. I think I will go with the C III unless something better comes out before I buy. The $10 difference is not much of a difference for me, but it would be nice if newegg had more combo deals with the C III. Oh well. Thanks again
__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Old 11-21-2009, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: AM3 mobo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
If you're budget allows,
tsk tsk tsk
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

« New PC | Monitor »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo Swap Question ConcreteWaves New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-01-2009 08:03 AM
Dead chipset or mobo? toneb021 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-25-2009 06:39 PM
PCI-E 2.0 on 1.0 mobo? proman9988 System Upgrades 1 04-30-2009 07:23 PM
I'm Confused mobo & cpu question LowLife New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-22-2009 10:18 AM
new mobo or cpu or both... Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-19-2008 10:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.