Am3 board or no..? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2010, 02:44 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default Re: Am3 board or no..?

I was mostly being sarcastic on some of those topics, as far as the future goes anyway. I really have no idea whats upcomming for AMD. Or whats upcomming for any PC hardware for that matter. I was just trying to be sarcastic because I finally upgraded from a 5 year old machine, and now Im just waiting for them to completely change the hardware again. Hence my AM4, DDR4, PCIE 3.0, etc remark. When I bought my last machine the AM2 standard came out less than 6 months later, pretty much ending the upgrade path of my then new machine. So now 5 years later and I finally have a nice new AM3 machine, Im just waiting for "AM4" to be released haha. I pray to god AM3 rules king (in AMD land) for another year or 2 atleast!

Thank you Apokalipse for setting me straight on Bulldozer/Thuban. And your general wealth of AMD knowledge.

Tro1086 is offline  
Old 03-27-2010, 11:08 AM   #12 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
Hampton's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Am3 board or no..?

Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
If it uses DDR2, it's not AM3. It will be AM2+ which is compatible with AM3 CPU's.

One good reason to get AM3 would be that you won't have to get new RAM later when you upgrade.
And you probably won't have to get a new board either; I think Bulldozer will work in AM3 boards, and that's coming out in 2011. Not 100% certain though.

DDR3 won't really give you better performance in most cases.
However, if you're getting a new system, now is about the time when people should be getting DDR3 instead of DDR2.
Thats kinda what I thought, but he had a box that said AM3 and it may or may not have said ddr3. I really didn't pay to much attention as I didn't have the money on hand. (sales men lol)


Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.

:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AM3 mobo? apsoul New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-21-2009 12:21 PM
Mother Board support `Mike Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-20-2009 09:25 AM
My temp board sucks! Antec-User Off Topic Discussion 23 03-25-2009 06:23 PM
45nm AMD Processor for AM3 only maroon1 New Technology and Products 44 05-26-2008 04:41 PM
evga 680i board. Error code 7F veedubfreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-19-2007 01:40 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.