AM2 to wait or not to wait - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2006, 09:15 AM   #81 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
ITS MY THREAD AND I'LL DO WHAT I WANT!!!!

only joking, you are right. so basically i suppose it isn't a problem if we get a bit off topic just don't want to see it stray too far as there are people who probably don't want to have to read 10 pages of stuff that only loosely pertains to the title
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 10:44 AM   #82 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MyopicRequiem
OHH here's an interresting read for those of you who haven't read it: http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=30290
wow i feel sorry for amd. they're a small enough company as it is right now and they have better chips. i hope they come out with something more soon otherwise intel might have no competition at all . Come on AMD!
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 04:41 PM   #83 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by cvb724
wow i feel sorry for amd. they're a small enough company as it is right now and they have better chips. i hope they come out with something more soon otherwise intel might have no competition at all . Come on AMD! [/QUOTE

That's ... cute.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 08:54 PM   #84 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

uhhh... thanks?

its true. if intel ends up owning amd (maybe even literally) we'll have no choice other than to run all our comps with intels. they can create whatever tech they want and no one will care. we'll still buy them. but thats thinking pretty far ahead from now...
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:11 PM   #85 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
uhhh... thanks?

its true. if intel ends up owning amd (maybe even literally) we'll have no choice other than to run all our comps with intels. they can create whatever tech they want and no one will care. we'll still buy them. but thats thinking pretty far ahead from now...

_________________
It's called sarcasm lol.

And although Conroe will prove to be quite powerful I'd imagine, give AMD a few months and they'll retake the crown from Intel. If not, the competition will be more fierce, but I think the fight will be closer, I don't see AMD being knocked off the map completely at this stage.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 04:16 AM   #86 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

AMD will not be knocked out of the market. Intel need AMD, and AMD need Intel. as far apart as the companies may be they do need to co-exist. alright i'll admit this point makes more sense in my head than it does in writing but i don't know how to translate it from thought to word :P. it would be kind of like having laws without police to enforce them.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 05:18 PM   #87 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Updated performance preview of AM2. These should be the exact chips that will be released in June (no memory bug).

Still showing very minimal performance increase over socket 939 chips.

It looks like if you are planning on buying a new CPU in H2 2006, Conroe will be the way to go. After that, who knows.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=2738
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:26 AM   #88 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm curious as to how the new AMD chips will handle high memory hits. by this i mean tasks that require constant "random" access to the memory. i think the high latencies may even harm performance.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 07:53 PM   #89 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
i'm curious as to how the new AMD chips will handle high memory hits. by this i mean tasks that require constant "random" access to the memory. i think the high latencies may even harm performance.
That's what I thought too, that's why when AMD figured that the latencies wouldn't be as low as desired, they shot for "faster" DDR2 speeds to make up for the higher latency rate loss ... it didn't prove to really work unfortunetly. I'm guessing the "improved" onboard memory controller and the HTT of 333 may assist in this DDR2 transition though.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 10:04 PM   #90 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

maybe we should just blow up every intel building in the world....

lol jp i agree with nitestick.. AMD does need intel and Intel needs AMD. Think about it, if there was only one company, what would push them to get better tech? nothin... compitition is good but in the end we need AMD to be ahead. I'm waitin till feb 07 to get my AM2 setup so hopefully the bugs will be gone.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.