AM2 to wait or not to wait - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2006, 08:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

Im just happy the M2 is coming out because itll make the opterons for the s939 become cheaper and if im correct in assuming itll make ddr cheaper too so i can get a really nice OC rig for cheap
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Flanker wtf are talking about? MY POINT was the fact that the opteron cpus turned out to be very good with overclocking. I don't give a flying **** that socket F is a different socket etc etc. It will have a socket F motherboard with a socket F cpu. That's how these things work okay. THEN you OC the CPU (again, socket F cpu in a socket F board) I'm saying server setups can be very very very fast
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

And MY point is that Socket F CPUs won't be used even close to how the 939 Opterons are used because they won't be as close to the mainstream Athlon 64s.
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
Flanker wtf are talking about? MY POINT was the fact that the opteron cpus turned out to be very good with overclocking. I don't give a flying **** that socket F is a different socket etc etc. It will have a socket F motherboard with a socket F cpu. That's how these things work okay. THEN you OC the CPU (again, socket F cpu in a socket F board) I'm saying server setups can be very very very fast
Actually, before the socket 939 opterons came out (which are basicly athlon 64's with a different name), the 940 opterons were and still are very different than the athlon 64/939 opterons. They require slower, more expensive ECC ram, they don't support all the special things like 3dnow, sse, etc... They simply are not good for gamers/enthusiasts. They are only good for dedicated servers. This is how socket f will be.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 08:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Socket F is supposed to be only servers, isn't it?
Yea, and God knows when that's to be released.

In addition to other comments, seeing as the Socket AM2 equivalents of the current Socket 939 CPU's are performing at the same speeds, there really is no performance jump.

The main advantage is that it's future proof for faster DDR2 memory (when they get the timings down), and for faster CPU's. I believe AMD want's to end Socket 939 and Socket 754 rather fast compared to how fast they've eliminated past "legacy" Sockets.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 10:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Huh, I heard it was coming out with AM2...

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
This is how socket F will be.
And the Quad-Core Woodcrest. So no more, "OMG, Quad-Core gaming CPU" please. Not saying that you do it, but yea...
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 10:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
They require slower, more expensive ECC ram, they don't support all the special things like 3dnow, sse, etc... They simply are not good for gamers/enthusiasts. They are only good for dedicated servers. This is how socket f will be.
I don't think Socket F is going to be using buffered memory as DDR2 doesn't like errorchecking for some reason and last I checked AMD was looking for other alternatives...obviously the pin difference indicates some sort of distinction between the two but I think they will still all revolve around the same K8 architecture

Last I heard Socket F was slated for DDR3 or XDR support so if ANYTHING that's an indication that AM2 is a dead end considering they're not going to market two different memory types at the same time for very long and as I've said DDR3 and in particular XDR has the much higher speeds than even PC5400 and up while maintaining latency similar to DDR1 modules which is ideal for the IMC design of K8 processors

I'm only remotely interested in Socket S1 and Turion 64s as the roadmap has indicated some amazing thermal and power specs including multicore processors...and the true AMD enthusiast cores have always been the XP-Ms in my eyes and I want a deja vu family....but either way I am not upgrading for a while
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

idiotec i added your points as reasons to wait. could this be made a temporary sticky until the release of AM2 is closer just to help field questions as to whether or not to wait? if thats the cae i'll keep editing in any other good points for either argument
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:57 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 300
Default

So AM2 or AMD duals?
__________________
Sig reinstated SigSanta
Kazama is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 12:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kazama
So AM2 or AMD duals?
So did you read the thread?
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.