AM2 to wait or not to wait - Page 14 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2006, 09:50 PM   #131 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Yea, the main thing preventing AM2 from working is that it requires DDR2 memory (therefore DDR2 memory slots) where as Socket 939 uses DDR (therefore requires DDR memory slots). Because there is no motherboard with DDR and DDR2 slots ... this obviously isn't possible. There are other barriers I believe though, just don't know off the top of my head.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 10:30 PM   #132 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

there are numerous LGA775 boards that support both DDR1 and DDR2...I believe that there will be numerous RevF compatible boards that will support both DDR1 and DDR2 DIMMs although of course obviously using DDR1 will cause a system bottleneck
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 02:57 PM   #133 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Default

well while every1 is talking about what they think is going to..blah blah what if...blah blah. heres something about am2 that is somewhat certain. (for now) the release date of am2 will be an early release of may 23. I posted more than one link for reasurence

http://www.nforcershq.com/article6021.htm

http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=3828

http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2006/04...t_am2_release/

http://techreport.com/onearticle.x/9797
dark_omen is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 08:49 PM   #134 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i've heard talk of an adapter to make using AM2 processors on s939 boards possible. if this is true that would definitely make DDR a possibility. i heard of this a few days ago and i'll see if i can find a link.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 12:01 AM   #135 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i've heard talk of an adapter to make using AM2 processors on s939 boards possible. if this is true that would definitely make DDR a possibility. i heard of this a few days ago and i'll see if i can find a link.
If that works, you can experience the AM2 chips with a lower bus. So it will be a retarded s939 built on a lower process
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 08:40 PM   #136 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Quote:
there are numerous LGA775 boards that support both DDR1 and DDR2...I believe that there will be numerous RevF compatible boards that will support both DDR1 and DDR2 DIMMs although of course obviously using DDR1 will cause a system bottleneck
My bad, I was only thinking of AMD stuff at the time. Obviously some Intel Socket T boards take DDR or DDR2.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 10:24 PM   #137 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
That's what I thought too, that's why when AMD figured that the latencies wouldn't be as low as desired, they shot for "faster" DDR2 speeds to make up for the higher latency rate loss ... it didn't prove to really work unfortunetly. I'm guessing the "improved" onboard memory controller and the HTT of 333 may assist in this DDR2 transition though.

I would have to agree they do need the ddr2 latency down a bit and the memory conrtoller definately seems to outshine its compeditor. I found this and thought it was interesting how amd benifits much more with lower latenceys because its memory conroller. I think if Geil can lower an allready very low latency of 2 even lower with ddr, maybe they can do it with ddr2.



http://www.guru3d.com/article/memory/254/7/
dark_omen is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 05:26 PM   #138 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Geil? I'd rather have G. Skill or Kingston, since they work wonders on DFI's boards
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 10:30 PM   #139 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
Geil? I'd rather have G. Skill or Kingston, since they work wonders on DFI's boards
well dfi are good bords and g.skill and kingston are good but have they ever had their ram with latency of 1.5? doesnt sound like much from 2 to 1.5 but if it was easy then why didnt anyone else do so? Anyways AMD needs ddr2 latency down to at least 3, or get even faster speeds.
dark_omen is offline  
Old 05-23-2006, 11:07 PM   #140 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

any update on that Anti-Christ they call the Conroe?
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.