AM2 vs. 939 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2006, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default AM2 vs. 939

im going to build a new computer and had all my parts picked out one of which was AMD X2 4400 socket 939...then socket AM2 came out and i was wondering what are some advantages to having AM2 over socket 939?
__________________

railmaster7 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

if you get a halfway decent mobo, you will be able to have upto 8 gigs of ram compared to 4gb in a 939

not that you will never use 8 gigs or that it shows a difference but when vista get pumpin and real nextgen arrives, 8 gigs will be useable(though not neeeded)

and there are many new cores comming and already out for am2, like 65w versions.., 939 has pretty much haulted thier 939 development
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38
Default

What is your budget? You could go C2D instead...
ProSlayer is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You'll also get a free lollypop from AMD.

AM2 can now use DDR2. Which is a slight increase, not significant enough though, unless you have a board and memory module with DD2-800.

If you want to know more, there’s like a page on tom’s hardware site, it’s like 62 pages
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/05/...nvents_itself/
Law is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

You can get a great deal on the AMD FX-55 cpu on newegg if you already have an account with them, normally the price is $189.00, but if you apply the promo code "AMDROCKS" then you'll get $50 off, totaling out at $139.00. If you go that route, then you'll have to go with a socket 939, DDR setup.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I'd say the biggest advantage of 939 over AM2 is that you can get some older CPUs that are still pretty good for pretty cheap.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 07:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Drizo
You can get a great deal on the AMD FX-55 cpu on newegg if you already have an account with them, normally the price is $189.00, but if you apply the promo code "AMDROCKS" then you'll get $50 off, totaling out at $139.00. If you go that route, then you'll have to go with a socket 939, DDR setup.
**** I didn't know that
Law is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Law, if you have an 939 setup, just return the processor you have to newegg if you bought from them, they're very good about returns, at the most you'll end up paying a restocking fee. They let me return a mushkin psu, which I opened up the box but still let me return it and refund what I paid for it, though you still have to pay shipping.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 08:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I think AM2 is a flop (with it's current line of CPUs anyway). DDR2 offers no improvement over DDR and in some cases it's actually slower.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 08:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Well they have to, to stay in competition with Intel.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.