AM2 vs 939 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2006, 04:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

3800 plus is good. the 4000 is usually way more expensive because they have 2mb of l2 cache.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 04:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
Socket 939 is going to be like the P4... it'l be around for years to come. It may be "old" but it's still a dam good system. and there is not much of a performance difference between the AM2 and 939. true AM2 is better and more up to date... Just my 2 cents.

But since they ARE the same price right now... go AM2.
Correction, due to the internal memory controller of amd, and the new DDR2 supports which its only downfall is the increased latencies [which are much less felt because the decrease in the memory controller latencies] there IS a performance gap between AM2 and s939, a memory bandwith increase .

-Jo.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 05:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Ok here's another quick which is better question.
Is there any diffrence between the Raptor X 150gig 10K and the regular Raptor 150gig 10k?
Should I buy a 150 gig 10k or a low gig 10k for games with a seperate 7200 HD for storage?
Avatar is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 07:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103739

i meant the single core athlon 4000
j12 is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 04:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to eminemshow3677
Default

3800+, I am running it and love it. Never again buying a INTEL for sure.
__________________

Abit AT8 32X
BenQ DW1655LS DVD+/- RW
AMD X2 3800+
2 GB Corsair XMS Ram
300 Gb Maxtor Diamondmax
BFG 7600GT OC
Logisys Wireless Card
17\" Nec Flat Panel(Awesome)
Zalman 9500
Asus Dvd-Rom
OCZ Modstream 520W
eminemshow3677 is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 05:42 AM   #16 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Avatar

Should I buy a 150 gig 10k or a low gig 10k for games with a seperate 7200 HD for storage?
the second one. Just know that you don't necessarily need a "raptor". I have an old 30gig (standard speeds) and everything is quick to load and boot up is like 30 seconds. The point is have one drive for installs and windows, have another for whatever junk you come across.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 06:29 AM   #17 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by j369852147412
i meant the single core athlon 4000
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103631

not exactly but close to the same thing.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 06:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

well i didn't really feel like reading all of the replies so i'm sorry if somebody already posted this info.

i'd say go AM2 because it's pretty much the same price. DDR2 memory is faster but a little more expensive (still better performance/price in my book.) AM2 is also going to be more future-proof and it'll be more upgradable and slightly faster because of the memory. all in all it just comes down to the memory. if you want DDR or DDR2.

i'd say look into that if you're not sure on what you want. they've got a lot of good reviews/experiments out there showing the performance differences between DDR1 and DDR2 w/ AMD's.

^that's what, imo should be the deciding factor as they are identical other than that.^
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.