AM2 has a sectret weapon - apparently - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2006, 08:58 PM   #41 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default

Im still staying w/ S939 for a LONG while so if anybody wonderd thats why ive been bashing both Conroe and AM2. I really dont have a problem w/ either and no matter what AMD fanboys, Intel has it this round and the processor isnt even out. And Info, ppl may still want AMD because they are AMD fanboys and dont want an Intel period no matter how much better it performs. Some ppl are that wayand you cant change it no matter how much you argue the Conroe is better. Thats why im skipping this processor battle and waiting for the next gen to come out. Quad core is my next step.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 10:49 PM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Infomatic
Why? I'm not flaming or anything. I only wish for you to elaborate on your opinion that AM2 is just as good an option as Conroe?

No, Im not saying that you were flaming. I was just making a general statement that both of them are good procs. I wasnt trying to aim anything at anyone.

Secondly, I agree that everything is moving (by teh industries choice not ours) towards 64-bit. We all can see/agree on that.

As far as your final point. I'll look back and see if I missed anything, its very possible that I did. The impression that I get (and maybe its a misunderstanding on my part) is that RHT wont make that much of a difference, because its a virtual emulation so its got to simulate the program at the instruction level to use multiple threads instead of just goin through like it would single core.. so the system has to add this step to save time later on... I dunno..

anywyas I have a question for you.. are the prices you listed for AMD the dropped prices or not?
__________________

__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 11:14 PM   #43 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

No, I have to admit that those are the current prices. However, only the X2 3800+ will be cheaper than a Conroe. If building a system, a Conroe will still be the way to go. Even if the price on the X2 4800+ drops a whole 50% (it won't), it would be $315. Still considerably more than the $183 Conroe that outperforms it.

EDIT: I like how the thread title has a typo in it, lol.
Infomatic is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 05:57 AM   #44 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
before posting something "new", use the search feature to see if it has already been posted.
Ill do that in future thanks
__________________

Shifter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.