AM2 has a sectret weapon - apparently - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2006, 01:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
This has been posted. I see that it will get a good lead in single threaded programs, but what about multithreaded programs?
Well, Conroe will be better, but quad cores will be out before games will require it (to get a decent frame rate or a min spec) and for apps I can wait.

This rumour has put me quite neutral as to what to go for.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

But we already know that Conroe is better than AM2 cpus from tests already made.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 02:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
But we already know that Conroe is better than AM2 cpus from tests already made.
I am not saying the Conroe isn't the better CPU. It will be better in multi threaded apps than AM2. But I don't have any multi threaded apps, and games will not need a multi threaded CPU for a long while. This rumour will make me think twice about going for a Conroe. That is what I was/am saying.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 02:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

Eh. If RHT finally shows itself, it could allow the X2s to trade blows with Conroe and its friends in some areas, but I'll bet Conroe will still be the dominant choice for performance computers.
Orayn is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 03:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Im waiting till mid august to build. If RHT isn't out, then screw AM2, I'm building 939. I'll upgrade to AM2 if RHT later, or Conroe once the price drops.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 03:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Um...guys...if you'd read the other thread you could know that Intel also has something "secretly built into" the Conroe. Its almost exactly like Reverse HyperThreading, but its called Core Multiplexing in Conroe's case. It also lets the Conroe switch from a Dual Core processor to a much stronger single core processor. So RHT doesn't really give AMD any sort of edge.

If people are still going to buy K8 AM2 CPUs, I don't know what Intel can do to stop you guys. They've beaten AMD is every single way, including having AMD's rumoured secret megaweapon.

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
...or Conroe once the price drops.
You're joking, right?
Infomatic is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 03:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Is 'the other thread' the 7 pages of flaming one?

It would make sense actually as Microsoft are having to create the patch for the RHT. Jumps back on to the bandwagon of Conroe and starts wading throuh the flames.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 03:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

That would be the one, yes. Except there were no flames on the 7th page.
Infomatic is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 04:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

you have to take in mind that RHT Will make you'r dual core cpu useless for multitasking, and believe it or not but 90% of you are multitasking and do need the dual core mutli threading ability, example is simple (True one from my experience):

I like to go AFK on some game no matter what its called and put a bot (Its legal there, anyway) but sometimes botting is boring--so I'd like to go play BF2, with RHT That turns my two, mutli-threading-able cores into one logical unit won't allow me to, but if I don't use RHT, I can set up the other game to only use core 1, while BF2 will run on the 2'nd core, thus I will not lose performance at all in either of the games.

So yeah, games doesn't do mutli threading yet, but we still need that in most of the times , another example is when you'r copying or burning a DVD, it takes soooooooooooooo long and you can get soooo bored....... you get my point

lol...

just my 2 cent...

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 04:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Are you seriously complaining about a 4Ghz Single-Core Athlon 64 processor for $183?

Most people don't bot like you. And most people still have Single Core processors. And 90% of apps are still single-threaded.
__________________

Infomatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.