AM2 Or Core Duo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2006, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default AM2 Or Core Duo

Im just wondering now what i should do for my mobo/ram/proc...

Its either go am2+sli/xfire+ddr667

or

core duo+ single x16 pcie + ddr667

Im going to be getting either a g80 or r600 later when it comes out....but i need a processor and mobo now...

I like the idea of pairing a x1600xt with a r600 (using x1600xt for physics)...i would need a crossfire mobo correct? But where i live... i can get a t2500 2.0 for the same price as a am2 3800+....

also would ddr2 533 have to be run with a divider on either system? AM2 ram standard is 800...and the core duo is 667...
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Wait for conroe.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

well considering conroe isnt much more of a performance boost over a comparable core duo chip... if i had the time id wait.
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Are you kidding? It's a HUUUGE boost. The 2.6Ghz model smoked the FX-62. It will be out July 23rd. Thats not to far off.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Default

Yeah it's true. Just wait for conroe, or at least wait until the dual core AM2's start appearing.
__________________
Come join the Expiration Date Forums! Discussion boards for everything from lucid dreaming to movies & TV to webcomics, and more!
visionRAY is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

dual core am2's are out already....

i was comparing core duo to core 2 duo.... i know that conroe smokes amd right now dollar for dollar...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 04:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Default

I'm sure they're really hard to get though.

If AMD is better than the current Core Duo, and Conroe beats AMD, then Conroe must be better than the Core Duo. Wait for Conroe.

Edit: Unless Conroe doesn't come out next month after all (a couple of rumors are going around).
__________________
Come join the Expiration Date Forums! Discussion boards for everything from lucid dreaming to movies & TV to webcomics, and more!
visionRAY is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 06:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

i have access to buying am2 xp2 3800+ 4200+ 4400+....as well as all the core duo chips... in stock at a store near me..

however the t2500 is the same price as the am2 x2 3800+ (both 2ghz) and i think that the core duo is definitely faster.

Thing is there are no dual pcie x16 mobos for the t2500... and im not sure which to get...

Also if anyone could answer my ram question that would be great...
blaackoran is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 08:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Why do people still need to ask get the Core 2 Duo's.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

why do people keep posting about conroe....i know were all waiting for it to come out but seriously... i need a computer now not in 2 months (or later as rumors say)

Please keep discussion between am2 and core duo... right now im leaning towards amd x2 4000+... its same as 3800 but with 2x 1mb cache instead of 512... only 30 bucks more.

The question is what motherboard to go along with it....? im looking at dual x16 capable... possibly the r600GPU/x1600xt PPU combo... (can this be achieved with current boards?)
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.