Am2 or Conroe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2006, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default Am2 or Conroe

Well, I have made my am2 specs but I really need to know if I can get a intel that is better about the same price. The board and cpu of am2 is costing about $405.99 without shipping.
Am2 specs
MoBo EPoX EP-MF570SLI
Case XION XION _ Solaris XON-403
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Windsor
GPU eVGA 512-P2-N568-AR 7900GT KO 512MB
Ram CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2
Hdd Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB
CD/DVD Pioneer Black x2
Cooling APEVIA(ASPIRE) CF12SL-UGN 120mm x2
PSU Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-500 ATX12V 500W
Extra Microsoft Keyboard + Mouse


Could and sould I go conroe.
__________________

Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

You could get a similar setup such as the one from mine, the nforce 570 board is pretty cheap compared to other conroe boards. Also the conroes have gone down in price, but you could get a e6300 or 6400 if you want to be conservative. Though I think you could end up around 1200-1500 depending on which conroe you get, with the 7900gt or even an x1900xt which is cheaper then the nvidia.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

i like nvidia better. Ati is ok but to me it is th poor mans board...
They are ok but I really hate the driver solfware. It will be a few months so once am3 comes out conroe boards and cpus should go down also.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Yeah I like nvidia better too, the first ATI card came with my P4 system, some all in wonder card, can't remember which one, but it didn't really run SC4 or GTA3 pretty well. Replaced it with a evga geforce 5700, and runs the games alot better.

Though as far as going AMD, thats up to you, I don't have any experience with AMD, or know anything about them. Not sure you can tell but I've only owned Intels other than my 1st computer which was a Commodore PC. From Pentium 66mhz, PII 450mhz, P4 northwood 2.2ghz, and now Conroe 2.4ghz.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Is this worth buying over the amd I have chosen.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115004
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

The E6400 outbenches, or is comparable to the AMD FX-62, pretty impressive for a $250 cpu.

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2802&p=4
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Yeah, I will have to let my friend see it but if he thinks it is better I might go intel. I might get the e6600 in a few months once the prices goes down. Do you know when the am3 cpips and boards will come out, because that would be the perfect time to buy a conroe.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

I wouldn't know when the AM3 cpu's will come out, though I'll guess January 07 since the quad core Conroes will supposedly be available during that time too.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Yeah and those will be sky high. I will I was bill gates to keep up with all this hardware.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 06:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

Does anyone really know when am3 chips come out.
__________________

__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.