AM2 ATI mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2006, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default AM2 ATI mobo

Can anyone reccoemdn one? The ECS mobo I would like does not seem to be very available yet so I am looking for some reccomendations. and for anyone wondering "Why Am2 with Conroe on the way?" my answer is my budget. For me it is hard to pass up the price drops next week. As for "Why ATI?" it is just what I have come to prefer (x1800xt).
__________________

__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Well, if you can, i'd wait for ATI's new ATI chipsets. I think that ECS is the only ATI AM2 mobo out now. Heres an article on the new ATI/Nvidia/etc. chipsets: http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=3256

I kno the RD600 chipset for conroe is comin out in august/september and boards are supposed to be around $150. The RS600 (integrated graphics) will be less than $100. But those are for intel/conroe mobos.

So either way, if you want a good ATI chipset with CF and stuff like that, you'll have to wait for a while. Nvidia chipsets will work with that card just no CF (just in case u didnt kno that, u probably do though).

btw, X1800XT, good choice.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

Yeah, I know teh Nvidia chipsets will work, but I also know that having a chipset that matches your GPU is even better.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 07:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheDiceman
Yeah, I know teh Nvidia chipsets will work, but I also know that having a chipset that matches your GPU is even better.


Acctualy tests show that ATI cards had a better performance on Nvidia Chipsets
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

That seems... odd. NEver heard of that that before. Most people I have talked to have always said they got better performance out of an ATI chipset with an ATI card.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

I would still get an ATI chipset, just in case u ever want CF you'll be able to get it with just a mastercard upgrade. Although, CF is better with the 1900 series, you'd still be fine with a 1800XT. CF may not provide as much performance increase as people want, if you want extreme gamin (or u just want to show off your two video cards ), then multi-card graphics is for you. Not ever person who builds computers has a budget (cough *xtremesystems* cough)
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

Yeah, I am not going to crossfire now and ma not sure if it is really worth it to do in even teh near future, although I suppose it would be nice to have it as an option.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 09:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

U mind tellin us what parts you had in mind? I would like to see what you want to build. Of course, you dont have to say what mobo since i dont htink u've decided, but like wut CPU, RAM, GPU (X1800XT, kno that but 256MB or 512MB?), HD. Also whats your budget?
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 10:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default

For a Processor I am goin wtih a AMD x2 4200, RAM still not sure on brand, going wiht a gig dual channel for the moment, will upgrade to another gig when I can afford it. The x1800xt is the 256MB model since the 512 is too pricey for me right now. Thinking on an Antec PSU, aroudn 550W. HD will just be a 160GB 7200RPM, the drive will literally just be the OS and games.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-20-2006, 10:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Alright, sounds good. I was goin to try and see if it were possible to get a x1900xt but doesnt look like it inless u get 512 ram and too much downgrades that nobody wants. I was goin to get a 1800XT too but i found a way to get 1900XT instead. If you could, taht would be great but stick with 1GB of RAM, and a dual-core. Even with the X1800XT you'll have awsome quality.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.