AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2009, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Exclamation AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help

So I've been reading some articles and noticed that amd will be releasing the AM3 cpu sockets soon.

My question is, Should I wait and get a AM3 cpu or just go ahead and get the AM2+ Phenom II 920 (2.6 ghz) cpu?

Is the Phenom II 920 also good for overclocking?

Another Question: I think the difference is that AM2+ does not support ddr3? can someone explain this to me? I'm not a technical person when it comes to computers.

Also, is there going to be a big difference between the AM2+ and AM3 cpu performance/speed wise?

Thanks,
Bhavik
__________________

bhavik86 is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help

Am3 socket has been released your a bit late

What is your budget?

ddr3 is a memory standard which is incompatible with the previous standard which was ddr2
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help

whoops haha.

Well what is the difference in speed/performance of the AM2+ vs. AM3

My budget is around 1000. So far I've selected:

Antec Twelve Hundred Case and Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Power Supply ATX12V & EPS12V Power Supply which is around 340 bucks

Or should i go to intel?

Also....window 7 is suppose to come out this year...with dx11....is it worth waiting for?
bhavik86 is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help

Hello,

AM3 socket processors work in AM2 and AM2+ socket motherboards. However, AM2 and AM2+ socket processors do not work in AM3 socket motherboards.

This is because AM3 socket processors can use either DDR2 or DDR3 memory, therefore having backwards support for DDR2 memory in AM2 and AM2+ motherboards. AM2 and AM2+ processors on the other hand, do not have a DDR3 memory controller and can only support DDR2 memory; therefore it isn't compatible in AM3 socket motherboard where there is only DDR3 memory support.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help

Questions remaining:

What is the difference in speed/performance of the AM2+ vs. AM3;

should i go to intel?

Also....window 7 is suppose to come out this year...with dx11....is it worth waiting for?
bhavik86 is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help

the am3 phenom II's and am2 phenom II's are about the same performance core per core.

they just differ in stock clock speeds as far as performance, all of them can OC to 3.5+ from my understanding
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 02:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help

X3 710 and X4 810 are AM3 chips and you would be lucky to hit 3.5ghz stable. While the AM2+ 920 gets about 3.5ghz~ stable on air. Deneb hits like 3.7~4.00ghz on air.

So only one AM3 chip can hit 3.5ghz stable. The X3 720.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 08:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: AM2+ or AM3?? Need Help

^ You can almost get 3.3Ghz on stock voltages with a 720.
These guys were hitting 3.7-3.8Ghz on air:
AnandTech: The Phenom II X4 810 & X3 720: AMD Gets DDR3 But Doesn't Need It

Here's a solid build I put together:
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE TA790GX 128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100260SR Radeon HD 4850 X2 1GB 512-bit (2 x 256-bit) GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3750330AS 750GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 22X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 22X DVD Burner - CD / DVD Burners

Newegg.com - Antec Twelve Hundred Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

Newegg.com - XIGMATEK ACK-I7361 CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

Total comes to $1034.45 including shipping. Then there are $50 of mail in rebates.

If it's too expensive you can downgrade to a 810 or 720, they are still really good for gaming:
AnandTech: The Phenom II X4 810 & X3 720: AMD Gets DDR3 But Doesn't Need It
The 720 is almost on par with a Q9550 in terms of gaming, without overclock.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Motherboards Now Support AMD AM3 Processors Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 11-24-2008 07:09 PM
45nm AMD Processor for AM3 only maroon1 New Technology and Products 44 05-26-2008 05:41 PM
CPU upgrade for AM2 jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 15 01-30-2008 12:49 AM
Build Plans... AMD AM2.. Check it out! zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-25-2007 03:31 PM
AM2 vs Core2 duo Mandingo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-01-2007 03:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.