AM2 is almost here(prices!) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2006, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default AM2 is almost here(prices!)

Sorry if this has been posted before but i cant see anything.
Take a look at http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...et_AM2_X2.html
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal..._Athlon64.html
The socket AM2 processors are listed there, and are meant to be out on May 22nd.
There isnt much of a price difference at all between socket 939 and AM2. Do you think this means that socket 939 will soon be "history"?
__________________

Chris_PC is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

ooh. an FX-62. (sorry I didn't know about that...!)

Available now from OC.uk...!?
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

yeah i saw that, got to be pretty nuts!
I dont know what the prices are going to be like in the USA/Canada but theyll probarbly be very close to s939 prices :O
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=31842

I have a DFI SLI-DR at the moment but no CPU or RAM so I'm probably going to sell it and get a AM2 motherboard. That X2 4000+ looks tasty.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 05:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default Re: AM2 is almost here(prices!)

Quote:
Originally posted by Chris_PC
Do you think this means that socket 939 will soon be "history"?
yes, AMD has released that they will stop producing s939 mobos and CPUs at the end of 2006, and s754 will die out at the end of 2007.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

any ideas on how the am2s overclock?
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Whoop dee doo. All hail this attempt by AMD to make themselves look better in the eyes of the average consumer. I'm impressed by the Power Consumption, but thats about all the impresses me over the S939 ones.

As for overclocking, nobody at XS has been bothering to try to obtain samples, and nobody at AMD is bothering to send any over. They're all too busy drooling over the glory that is Conroe.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default Re: Re: AM2 is almost here(prices!)

Quote:
Originally posted by MrZucchiniHead
yes, AMD has released that they will stop producing s939 mobos and CPUs at the end of 2006, and s754 will die out at the end of 2007.
what? this soon after i bought my s939, ahh well i guess these things happen. I dont see that much of a majour advantage over socket939s TBH
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

There may not be any performance advantage at all in the end. The only advantage I see is in future processors. Its not even an advantage, its just something that happens to be on AM2, though it would've worked with S939. Anyways, there might be Quad-Core processors on AM2. They won't release them for S939, so thats out.

If only the performance increase was that from S754 to S939, where Dual-Channel RAM actually made a difference.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 06:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Yea, I do agree that AM2 doesn't have much better things the s939. I just want to have the upgradability and I don't want to wait 2-3 months for Conroe.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.