AM2 6000+ Nice! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2007, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Wink AM2 6000+ Nice!

Price is for dirt on newegg! $169!! Blew my 4200+ right out of the water. Runs a little hot 53 C but I only use a Thermalite Passive heatsink (no cpu fan at all). I'll be installing the stock heatsink/fan tonight and hopefully that will drop the core temp a bit. I will 3DMark06 this system later tonight with my new EVGA 8800gts 320 installed. Not a performance monster like the E6750 but it was cheap and is very impressive. I keep hoping AMD will get back in the game!!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 05:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoDirenzo View Post
Price is for dirt on newegg! $169!! Blew my 4200+ right out of the water. Runs a little hot 53 C but I only use a Thermalite Passive heatsink (no cpu fan at all). I'll be installing the stock heatsink/fan tonight and hopefully that will drop the core temp a bit. I will 3DMark06 this system later tonight with my new EVGA 8800gts 320 installed. Not a performance monster like the E6750 but it was cheap and is very impressive. I keep hoping AMD will get back in the game!!!!
ya even if u watercool it, its not gonna overclock even 500mhz, but try and see what u get
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 08:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
ya even if u watercool it, its not gonna overclock even 500mhz, but try and see what u get
I have watercooling and I've been able to clock it past 3.5GHZ
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 08:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

how do you watercool and is it worth it?
and how far would i be able to get my opteron watercooled
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
how do you watercool and is it worth it?
and how far would i be able to get my opteron watercooled
You get a bucket of water and ice and submerge the cpu and motherboard, lol.

Watercooling kits are pretty expensive, much more pricey than air cooling, and you have to taylor it to you pc and case. The good thing is its much better than air cooling, but the main drawback is the price. You might be able to get that opty over 3ghz on water.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 08:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

well so far i have my opty at 2.6 without raising the volt. I ran otthose for about 8 hours and it posted no errors.
I havent noticed much diff from stock speeds, So i guess im not gonna bother with water cooling.
Im planning on building anoter pc, or wait till the 9 series card come out.
I pretty much want a quad processor and a gfx card that will run the new games taht are coming on on max graphics with no lag at all.
(crysis,COD4,nfs,madden,fifa,half life2,etc).
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
how do you watercool and is it worth it?
and how far would i be able to get my opteron watercooled
You can either buy a complete watercoling kit, or you can buy all the separate parts and DIY

Is it worth it?
well, that depends.
Watercooling usually costs a significant amount.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 09:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

i think ill stay away from that...thanks for the info though.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 09:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

Bah all the OC pros use Liquid Nitrogen anyways. lol now that will break your budget. can you say 8ghz?
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 10:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: AM2 6000+ Nice!

huh?im lost
hey zmatt, whats your 3dmark score?
and have you oclocked your opty yet?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a nice laptop? techman321 Laptops and Notebooks 13 07-04-2007 01:47 AM
Nice deal on DDR2-800 ram jordo_99 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 05-10-2007 07:48 PM
looking for nice headphones Ronnie New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-29-2007 09:09 PM
New X2900XT Info - Looks Very Nice Oreo PC Gaming 18 04-27-2007 04:52 PM
Nice Gaming headset Muttmitman New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-10-2007 03:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.