Am I good to go? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 10:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Default Am I good to go?

I think i have all my ducks in a row but i'm getting the feeling that i'm still missing something.

What do you guys think?

Case
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811165008

Fan
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811999614
Still not sure what to think hear, you guys have any recommendations?

Mobo
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813136158

Graphics Card
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130249

PSU
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817103931

CPU
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103562

RAM
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820220079

Hard drives
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822148051
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822148065

Sound Card
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16829102188

CD/DVD drives
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16827106995
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16827131417

Total parts order = $1513.94

If I order everything from newegg i'll be coming in just over 1500. Not bad, thats right where I would like to be.

Whatda guys think? I'm I ready to go or am I missing some little things that are slipping my mind?
__________________

llDarkmindll is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

It's a good setup.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Am I forgetting anything? I just dont want to get everything and get started with the build and then realize that I'm missing a few 5 to 10 dollor parts.
__________________
I-STAR Nitro ATX Full Tower Case
DFI LP UT nF4 SLI-D Socket 939
eVGA Geforce 7800GT 256MB
Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester
G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB (2 x 1GB)
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
llDarkmindll is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Get a better hdd, you want at least an sata150 hdd with an 8MB cache. You should upgrade to the SLI-DR
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Get the Ultra-D, the SLI-D is just more expensive, unless you actually plan on buying another 7800GT within the near future for that 30% increase in performance *rolls eyes*.

that looks like a big case, make sure you have enough fans for propour airflow. Make sure you have enough IDE, SATA, and FDD cables.


That should be fine then.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Get a better hdd, you want at least an sata150 hdd with an 8MB cache. You should upgrade to the SLI-DR
I have two hdds on that list, one 20GB just for my music and another 250GB ata150 with a 8MB cache as my main drive.


Quote:
Get the Ultra-D, the SLI-D is just more expensive, unless you actually plan on buying another 7800GT within the near future for that 30% increase in performance *rolls eyes*.
''

Nope, don't plan on buying another 7800GT so I'll move to the Ultra-D and save myself 30 or so bucks. There is some feedback saying that the Ultra-D is or can be picky with RAM, will I be ok with Patriot Signature RAM?


Quote:
that looks like a big case, make sure you have enough fans for proper airflow.
Case comes with one and I added another. Should I add a third just in case?


Quote:
Make sure you have enough IDE, SATA, and FDD cables.
Thanks, I just figured that those would come with everything.
llDarkmindll is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Well that 20GB hdd is going to be reallly reallly slow.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Well that 20GB hdd is going to be really really slow.

Will this be a good choice then? Its a lot bigger than i need though.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148040
llDarkmindll is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Not bad, but I would get this RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021

Also, I would get only one hard drive:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136003
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 01:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Will that RAM even work with the mobo i have picked being that its not DDR 400 (PC 3200)?
__________________

llDarkmindll is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.