Am I going to have problems with Vista if I run this setup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2007, 04:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Am I going to have problems with Vista if I run this setup?

I was told on another forum that Creative is lagging on the Vista drivers for my sound card, and I have also been told that my Video Card will not work with Vista due to drivers also. Does anyone know anything about this? Here are my specs:

Case:
ENERMAX ECA3092 Black SECC & Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Motherboard:
ASUS P5B Deluxe LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

Processor:
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz LGA 775 Processor

Power Supply:
ENERMAX ATX 550W Power Supply

Graphics Card:
eVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card

Memory:
G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory 2GBHZ

Speakers:
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers

Monitor: (22" Widescreen HDMI)
SCEPTRE x22wg-Gamer Black 22" 5ms DVI Widescreen HDMI LCD Monitor

Sound Card:
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

Hard Drive:
SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
__________________

King$nake is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

There are drivers, they just aren't as good or not good at all. You can always purchase XP with the upgrade coupon.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

That's an awesome rig for Vista. The reason you want vista at the current time I have no idea but it'll be a good rig for vista when drivers and service packs start coming out.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 03:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M733mhz
The reason you want vista at the current time I have no idea
Maybe because he wants to be ready for DX10
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Yeah, But most people are waiting for the service pack. Everything I've heard about vista right now is just lack of drivers and there's not a ton of things you could do with it. I'm gonna stick with XP for a while until the first service pack comes out for it and there is more support for vista. If you wanna make the jump to vista now, That's completely fine I'm just implying it might be a little easier on you to wait for the service pack.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.