Always wondered about tv tuners - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default Always wondered about tv tuners

First off what do they do, is it display your cable on your monitor?

ANyway to get High Def or dont monitors and or tv tuners have that yet.

Will I need anything special or just an open pci e or pci slot?

What branda would you recomend
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

I was considering this

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...632017&CatId=0
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

i've always kind of wondered that too... not too knowledgable with stuff like that
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

I just got a Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-150 for $50 off newegg and it works great. Amazin quality and the program is very easy for me to use. The General recommended it to me. I'd deffinantly recommend it or the higher/more expensive versions of the card.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Do you just hook your cable up to it? The one I picked said HD would I be able to take advantage of that
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

I think you can only use HD with an HD moniter/tv, but i'm not totally sure. And yea i just hook my cable right up to it. I have my gamecube and DVD player hooked up to it, but, like someone on XS said, it has to go through a decoder first so there is a delay between the controller and the game and the audio is ahead of hte video on the DVD player (although i play my DVDs with my comp anyways). But for TV the work great. They have an A/V to VGA adapter on ebay if you wanted something for that
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 10:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

would their be a delay even if you buy a high end one?
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

i think its more about your computer rather than the actual tv tuner... just a guess though

im sure a nicer tv tuner would be faster.... or thats my educated guess
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

yea it might be the computer too. I'll let u kno, i was runnin my X2 3800+ at stock now i'm startin to OC so i'll see if the delay disappears or lessens.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 10:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

I get no delay with mine, and it was only $20...

but if I ever buy another I will make sure to get an hd compatable one and perhaps mce certified to
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.